Writing Tip Wednesday: 7 Tips On Writing A Series by Janice Hardy.

I am currently working on a series, in fact, a lot of ideas I have for novels are part of a series. Series are very popular things in both the YA world and the sci-fi/fantasy world, my two favourite worlds to write in 🙂

So I was delighted when I came across a post by author Janice Hardy titled 7 Tips On Writing A Series. If you’re working on a series at the moment or have plans to in the future, this informative little post is worth checking out.
In it, Janice discusses things such as The concept of hook behind the series, the series time line and the all important series bible (A reference guide to all the things, especially the small things, that have happened over the course of the series. You want to keep your facts straight through the entire series.)

Before I sit down to write a series, I always know the beginning and the very end (as in what is going to happen in the last book). I also know the main plot point for each book I intend to write. I am very much a panster when it comes to my writing, but with a series you need to know where your book is going. And you need a big fat note book like Janice said. Mine is filled with all the characters profiles, from their appearance to their favourite colour, likes/dislikes, things like that, and a time line of events and chapter outlines etc.
It’s a lot of work and you have to really love your characters and story because you are going to be with them for a while, and as Janice says: ‘Writing a series can be a lot of fun and a lot of work, but with a little planning on the front end, you can make it a whole lot easier–and a whole lot richer’.

2 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: 7 Tips On Writing A Series by Janice Hardy.

  1. Thanks for the lovely guest post, I would love to see a writer’s notebook one day it would be so amazing seeing how the story is fleshed out. I like the tip on needing to plan out the plot beforehand so that it has a direction, I think you can tell when the writer is just writing by the seat of their pants.

    1. I agree, you can tell when the writer is just writing by the seat of their pants. I can guarantee the best stories with the most intricate plots had a lot of planing done, brilliant foreshadowing doesn’t just write itself. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

