Review: Nymph by Tonya Alexandra #AWW2014

Today I have the pleasure of reviewing the YA paranormal romance, Nymph, The Love Oracles Book One, by debut Australian author Tonya Alexandra.
It is the fifth book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge.
I would like to thank Walker Books for giving me a copy in exchange for a honest review.

Walker Books Australia 2014
Walker Books Australia 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads:

An idyllic Greek island. Obsessed demigods. A fallen nymph. A mortal boy. Merope, a beautiful but faded star nymph, is banished to Earth for displeasing the gods. She tries to fit in, go to school and live a normal “human” life. And then she meets Lukas … but relationships between men and goddesses are forbidden. Will their love grow? Or will Merope and Lukas feel the wrath of the gods?

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

I love Greek mythology, so when I found out about this book I was really excited to read it and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. Thankfully, it didn’t disappoint. It was a fun read that I really enjoyed. Merope’s story intrigued me and it was great to read a myth I hadn’t heard of before.

Merope is a star nymph, whose star is fading. A god she has no interest in wants her for his own. She refuses him and is sent to Earth. While on Earth, Merope wants to learn as much as she can, get an education, and enrolls in the local high school.
Merope meets Lukas, a mortal boy, and has an instant attraction to him she doesn’t understand. Her feelings start to grow for Lukas, but having feelings for a human is dangerous. A relationship between a man and goddess is forbidden. Lukas could be killed if anything were to happen between them, and Merope could be tortured for the rest of her long life.

One of the things I loved about this book was the humour. It had me smiling constantly and laughing out loud frequently. Merope was trying to fit in and act normal, but the harder she tired the funnier she became. Heracles, a demi-god sent to watch over Merope, was another very funny character. I really liked him, and he had more depth than it seemed at first. Some of the things he would say were hilarious. I absolutely love humour in my books so this was a real plus for me. Another thing I loved about this was the setting – a small Greek island. It was nice to read a book in a location that’s different from the usual.

I am a fan of forbidden romances and I really liked this one. Both Merope and Lukas didn’t understand their feelings at first, but they couldn’t seem to stay from each other. Lukas was sweet and cute and persistent (but not in a stalkerish way.) And Merope tries really hard to do the right thing and stay away from him.

Overall, Nymph was a swoon worthy romance with lots of humour that I really enjoyed. It had a cliffhanger ending that has me longing for book two, Heavenly Longing. I recommend it to all lovers of YA romance and Greek Mythology.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

I am interviewing Tonya on March 22nd, so be sure to pop back in 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: Nymph by Tonya Alexandra #AWW2014

  1. Ohhh, I’m so excited to start this book now! I love Greek mythology (any mythology actually), so it’s definitely up my alley. And the humour will be a good bonus. I’m a little worried about the romance though, I hope it’s not too rushed. Wonderful review Rochelle, you’ve made me push this book up higher on my TBR list! 😀

    Joy @ Thoughts By J
    http://thoughtsbyj.com

    1. Thanks Joy. It is a little rushed, the attraction is instant, but this is the first novel I’ve read that has a genuine explanation of why they fall for each other so quickly.

Leave a Reply

