Fiction Friday: Review ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ by John Green.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday. Today I am reviewing The YA contemporary ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ by John Green. Normally I avoid spoilers in my reviews, but today I just can’t. So WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD. Do not continue if you do not want to be spoiled.

The fault in our stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

This book.

Okay?
No, not okay?
My heart is broken. No, not just broken, shattered.

Why write two such wonderful characters and then do that to them? Why, John Green, why?

The fault In Our Stars is a beautiful written book about two teenagers, Hazel Grace, who is suffering from cancer, and Augustus Waters, who is also suffering from cancer, who couldn’t be more star-crossed if they tried.

So many things make this book so good. Like making okay have such a layered meaning. Like having an amazing friend like Isaac. Characters like Peter Van Houten. Is any one else disappointed this book didn’t end in the middle of a se–

Augustus knows how precious life is, so he wastes no time in sweeping hazel (and me) off her feet. Hazel also knows how precious her life is, that she is just a grenade waiting to go off and destroy the lives of all those around her. She doesn’t want to let Augustus fully in. But fate has other ideas.

I’m so glad they got to have the small amount of infinity that they did. I am just going to pretend that the book ends with them lying happily in each others arms in Amsterdam, who’s with me?

I went into this book knowing Augustus dies, that’s what I get for waiting too long to read it. I didn’t know how he died though. I had my theory – being hit by a bus was my main one. Man, how I wish he was hit by a bus. Seriously, watching him die like that was torture. I cried so hard.

This book was too sad, amazing and brilliant and all that, but too sad. Books emotionally drain me so I only read books this sad on rare occasions and far apart from each other.

I won’t be watching the movie, I just can’t, I’d like to, but I can’t. I can’t relive this book over again, I can’t watch Augustus die, it was bad enough reading about it.

If you are looking for a great similar story but not as sad, I highly recommend Zac and Mia by A.J.Betts. Which I reviewed here.

5 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ by John Green.

  1. GOD THIS BOOK. THIS FREAKING BOOK BROKE MY HEART.
    WHAT IS JOHN GREEN DOING TO ME DAMN IT.
    (Yeah, as you can tell, I hated and loved this book. Augustus. Whyyyy.)

Leave a Reply

