A Writerly Update 26.

Hi Everyone,

I’ve had a fairly productive week writing wise. I contacted the person I wanted to beta read my YA epic fantasy and she said she would read it 🙂
So while that is happening I’ve decided to work on the next draft of Rift, my YA sci-fi. I have gone through the first five chapters so far.

I managed to write 1572 more words of my fairytale retelling.

I’ve also managed to write 1385 words of the Urban Fantasy that I have just started working on.

Both of these fall short of my weekly word count goals for them. I wanted to write 5,000 words of the fairytale retelling this week, and 2,000 of the Urban Fantasy.
I am really happy that I got through 5 chapters of Rift though.

I was hoping to get 2,000 words done on The Girl In The Mirror as well, but I only got 626 words. Still, better than none 🙂

I also came up with a short story I am excited about. I managed to plot it out but that’s as far as I got with it.

That’s it for me. How’d you go writing wise this week? I would love to hear from you.

Happy writing 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 26.

  1. No “fairly” about it, from what I’m reading; congrats on having such a good week :). Do you find it odd to be writing more than one story at a time? I’ve started juggling writing projects recently, and I’m finding it rather hard going.

    As for my week: well, it’s certainly been okay. Wrote out a (very poor, admittedly) first draft of a short story and refined a couple chapters of the SF novel I’m working on. About to go back to the novel right now, incidentally; thought it would be good to finish the next chapter before the day is over 🙂

    1. Thank you.
      Sometimes I find juggling hard, sometimes not. I don’t always work on this many things in a week – like last week all I did was read over my entire YA epic fantasy manuscript so I could get it off to the beta reader.
      When I first started writing I would only work on one thing at a time, but I’ve been writing for years and the ideas build up so I can’t not work on multiple projects at a time. Plus both my kids are at school now so I have my days free to write.

      Don’t sweat your poor short story first draft, first drafts are allowed to be poor, even down right bad 🙂
      Good luck with the SF novel, I hope you get as much work done it as you would like in the week to come 🙂

    1. When I first started writing I could only concentrate on one project at a time, but I’ve been going at it for years and the ideas start to build up so I have to work on more than one thing at a time. My main three WIPs are all in editing stages, so while editing I like to be writing as well.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Good luck with your projects.

Leave a Reply

