Review: Dark Parties by Sara Grant.

Indigo, 2011.
Indigo, 2011.

From the blurb:

Neva keeps a list of The Missing – people like her grandmother who have vanished. The People that everyone else pretends never existed.

In a world isolated by the Protectosphere – a dome which protects, but also imprisons – Neva and her friends dream of freedom.

But a forbidden party leads to complications. Suddenly, Neva’s falling for her best friend’s boyfriend, uncovering secrets and lies that threaten to destroy her world – and learning the truth about what happens to The Missing…

My Thoughts:

3 out of 5 stars.

I’ve been eager to read this one for a while. I’ll be honest and tell you I was drawn to it by the beautiful cover. I just love this cover. That dress is gorgeous (though I can’t recall her ever wearing a dress in the book.) and I love the snow – there’s just something about it on the cover of books that really draws me in.

Apart from the cover, it was the fact that it was set under a dome that made me really want to read it. I loved Breathe by Sarah Crossan and I also read a short story set under a dome and loved that too, and wanted to read more books that were similar.

Unfortunately, I didn’t love this one. I liked it, but it didn’t meet my expectations. This is a dystopian and I like a bit more action in my Dystopians. There was some toward the end, and that was great, it just wasn’t enough.

The government is very controlling under the dome. The biggest concern the government has is that people are running out, so they are trying to get the citizens to breed. Technology has gone a bit backwards because resources to make it have dwindled. Everyone is living on recycled products – including clothes, shoes, underwear etc.

Neva’s Grandmother went missing when Neva was six, and she has kept a list of The Missing ever since. Her list keeps getting longer and she is determined to find out what happens to them. She also doesn’t believe that there is nothing but harmful toxins outside and longs for freedom.

Neva and her friends form a small rebellion, but when they are almost caught, her friends give up. Neva can’t let it go though and does what she can on her own. She was determined and strong willed. She gets a job with her father in the government which puts her in prime position to uncover the government secrets. There were a few moments that had my heart racing a little when Neva is snooping and I feared she would get caught.

What failed most for me was the romance. This was not a simple love triangle, but a love square. Neva, although she has a boyfriend, starts falling for her best friend’s new boyfriend. I didn’t feel the spark between them though that we were told was there. And the fact that it was her best friend’s boyfriend made it really uncomfortable to read, it tainted it. There were some moments toward the end where I was almost buying it, but then I remembered the best friend.

What I find most interesting is that I think it is a stand alone. I looked on Sara Grant’s website and saw she released another dystopian last year but it didn’t seem to be related to this one?

Dark parties was good, and I enjoyed reading it for the most part. It was a future that I felt could really happen and had a nice amount of mystery to make you want to keep reading. I would have loved to know more about why they built the Protectosphere in the first place and would love a prequel set when the Protectosphere was first built. I felt like that would be a very interesting story.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dark Parties by Sara Grant.

  1. I’d want to read this simply based off of the cover.. I’m such a cover whore! Heh heh.

    And I’m always down with a SF type of dystopian setting. I’m definitely gonna check this one out! I also enjoyed reading your thoughts on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

