A Writerly Update 30.

Hi Everyone,

I haven’t written as much as I’ve wanted lately. The first half of the week I hardly wrote, I don’t even know what happened, I think it was just bad time management. I did post a short story on the blog though, which I haven’t done in forever. YA Book Lover, is a short and humourous story about a YA book lover who finds herself in a situation straight out of her books.

I continued outlining chapters of Rift and have done 15 chapters so far.

I had stopped working on my fairytale retelling for a while because I made a complication for my character that might have been a little too complicated and I wasn’t sure if I could make it work, and I really wanted to make it work. But thankfully today I had a stroke of inspiration and sorted out what I am going to do with it. I didn’t write anymore of it but I figured out a few more plot points to get past the bit of the story which was giving me trouble. It’s a great relief. Sometimes you just need to step away from the story, do something else and let it simmer in the back of your mind.

As some of you know, I started writing on an urban fantasy last month. This one I have been writing mainly by hand. I decided to type up the pages I have so far because I don’t want to have to do it all at once at the end. It turns out I had written over 4000 words to bring the word count to 12,813. It feels good to bypass the 10,000 word mark. I was really happy with the pages I typed up, and it got me even more excited for it. The good thing about hand writing and then typing it up is that I can edit it as I go, which isn’t something I usually do.

On a side note, I’m reading Dreams Of Gods And Monsters by Laini Taylor and if you ever want to get depressed about your own writing, read hers. It is aching beautiful, and I’m not even exaggerating. It is a brick though and it was hurting my wrist holding it while I read, so my tip to anyone reading it is to rest it on a table, or bring your legs up and rest it in your lap to save yourself from injury.

Well that was my writing week, what about you? Have you been letting things get in the way of your writing, or have you had a productive week? I’d love to hear from you 🙂

9 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 30.

  1. Things always get in the way of my writing! Lols. Sometimes life says ‘not now’, and I think it’s in learning when to accept that and when to push it aside.

    🙂

    And im with you on that thing where you read and book and go ‘hot damn, my writing sucks compared to this!’ Lol.

    #writersproblems

    xD

  2. I seem to ALWAYS have things to do when I just want to sit down and write/read. But’s that’s just life isn’t it? I haven’t wanted to write in a long time (since I was 17?), so it’s a great feeling that there’s a story swimming in my head at all. Good luck with your stories Rochelle! x

  3. Exciting update! I always write by hand first, as I can’t seem to write stories on the computer so well and get stuck all the time, and it’s so great to edit whilst typing! Your projects sound really interesting! Best of luck with your work.xx

    1. Thank you. I hadn’t written by hand in a long time, but I was too tired one night to turn on the computer and grabbed paper instead. I remember how much I enjoyed it and fell in love with it all over again.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

