Stepping Out With ‘House For All Seasons’ By Jenn J. McLeod. #AWW2014

Stepping out is a new feature on my blog where I step out of the YA world and review an adult book I’ve read. Today I am stepping out with ‘House For All Seasons’ by Australian author, Jenn J. McLeod.
It is also the eighth book I’ve read for the 2014 Australian Women Writers Challenge.

Here’s a bit about it:

House For All Seasons

Release Date : March 1st 2013.
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Australia.
Source: Won from Simon and Schuster. (Thank you!)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Small towns can keep big secrets.

Bequeathed a century-old house, four estranged friends return to their home town, Calingarry Crossing, where each must stay for a season at The Dandelion House to fulfil the wishes of their benefactor, Gypsy.

But coming home to the country stirs shameful memories of the past, including the tragic end-of-school muck up day accident twenty years earlier.

Sara, a breast cancer survivor afraid to fall in love; Poppy, a tough, ambitious journo still craving her father’s approval; Amber, a spoilt socialite addicted to painkillers and cosmetic procedures; and Caitlin, a doctor frustrated by her controlling family.

At The Dandelion House, the women will discover something about themselves and a secret that ties all four to each other and to the house – forever.

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5.

I love Australian books that are set in the country, but because I read a lot of YA, I don’t get to read that much of them. I just loved Calingarry Crossing where this book was set. It was so vividly described that I pictured it effortlessly and quickly felt at home in this small town.

House Of All Seasons is told from the point of view of four women – Sara, Poppy, Amber and Caitlin – who were friends back in high school but haven’t spoken to each other in 20 years. Gypsy, a mother figure to them all when they were young, has died and left them her house, The Dandelion House, on one condition: they must all spend one season there before they decide what to do with it.

Each of the women are facing a personal crisis and this is an opportunity for each of them to step away from their hectic life and reevaluate what it is they really want.

Sara’s story is first and after hers I thought I wouldn’t like the rest as much, but each of them were deeply real, and as I got to know them, they sunk into my heart.

House For All Seasons was beautifully written and I was drawn in from the start. Once I started reading, I found it very hard to put down. There were moments that had me on the verge of tears and moments that made me laugh. By the end I felt like I had made four new friends and I was part of their little circle.
There was a little bit of romance, but for a book where romance wasn’t a big factor, I was quite captivated.
Jenn J. McLeod is certainly an author to watch out for.

This is one book I would highly recommend.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

9 thoughts on “Stepping Out With ‘House For All Seasons’ By Jenn J. McLeod. #AWW2014

  1. I don’t read a lot of Australian adult fiction, but I should! I’m not a huge fan of novels set in the country so that probably deters me from picking up a lot of the Aussie adult novels. So glad you enjoyed this one, the characters sound so realistic and that’s a huge factor that lots of authors get wrong. Wonderful review Rochelle! x

    1. They were realistic, which is good since it’s a character driven novel! I hardly get to read adult fiction, Australian or otherwise because their are way too many YA books to read, but it’s nice for a change when I can.

  2. Rochelle! How wonderful and thank you for your support of the AWW challenge. It is so good to be able to put a real face to your name after meeting you in Newcastle recently. So glad you enjoyed HFAS. I hope you also enjoy Maggie’s story in Simmering Season (and learn a little more about some of HFAS characters along the way. And hello to Jeann and joy.

    1. I love the AWW challenge and think it is important to support Australian women writers. It was wonderful meeting you. I’m really looking forward to Simmering Season.

Leave a Reply

