Fiction Friday: Review: The Minnow By Diana Sweeny.

The minnow

Publisher: Text Publishing.
Release Date: May 28th 2014.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis From Goodreads:

Tom survived a devastating flood that claimed the lives of her sister and parents. Now she lives with Bill in his old shed by the lake. But it’s time to move out—Tom is pregnant with Bill’s baby.

Jonah lets her move in with him. Mrs Peck gives her the Fishmaster Super Series tackle box. Nana is full of gentle good advice and useful sayings.

And in her longing for what is lost, Tom talks to fish: Oscar the carp in the pet shop, little Sarah catfish who might be her sister, an unhelpful turtle in a tank at the maternity ward. And the minnow.

The Minnow is a moving and powerful coming of age story with a whimsical element that belies the heartbreaking truth of grief and loss. Tom is a character you will never forget.

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

The Minnow was a beautifully written, unapologetically different YA novel. I was quickly drawn into Tom’s world and became ‘hooked’. It was strange, lyrical and had a dream-like quality to it.

Tom is a girl who has suffered greatly – most of her family have been lost in the flood, everyone except her grandmother. She feels adrift in this strange world. She is not so ordinary. She can see ghosts and animals talk to her. We soon find out that Tom is pregnant and that the baby, which she refers to as ‘the minnow’, talks to her too.

Tom has a lot of good people in her life, people who want to take care of her and the minnow. Jonah (who is a boy) is Tom’s best friend. He has lost his family too and lets Tom come and live with him when she finds out she is pregnant. I loved their friendship. Loved how they were so close and cared for each other, and how their friendship was just that, a friendship. This was very much a character driven novel and I’m pleased to say all the characters were well-round and felt very real.

The plot was a bit all over the place, flitting between past and present. And there was a hint, a rather big hint I thought, that there was something different going on, but it is never confirmed so I was left a little confused.

The Minnow has been haunting me since I finished it, like one of Tom’s ghosts. Certainly a strange story, but one so beautifully written. It will pick you up and sweep you along with it. I was endeared to Tom and the minnow and found myself wanting more when it ended. I really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it to lovers of YA. If you are looking for a well written novel, both tragic and sweet, that is different, The Minnow is the book for you.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

13 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review: The Minnow By Diana Sweeny.

  1. Wow, this book sounds beautiful. I’ve enjoyed a lot of books with a hint of paranormal/magical realism so I think I’ll enjoy this one too. Tom and Jonah sounds like really realistic characters. Awesome review Rochelle x

  2. I felt exactly the same, you know there’s something bigger going on, but you’re never quite in the know. After I finished, I couldn’t stop thinking about it either, trying to decode it, rereading passages to see if I missed something. We need a support group, stat.

    I put up a theory in our YA group at the conclusion I came too, come join the discussion.

Leave a Reply

