Review: City Of Heavenly Fire By Cassandra Clare.

CoHF

Publisher: Walker Books Australia.
Release Date: May 27th 2014.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of a nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

The first thing I would like to say is that if you get the copy with the comic in it, DON’T READ IT FIRST. I was impatient and read it first and got majorly spoiled.

I don’t even know where to start with this. I am so emotionally drained. Cassandra Clare tore me to shreds before stitching me slowly back together. This book was pretty much perfect for me, there was only one thing that truly shocked me and that I can’t believe happened. There was the usual action level, and to my surprise, many LOL moments.
My advice would be to make sure you read The Infernal Devices first to fully enjoy this book. This may be a bit spoilery, but fans of a certain someone will be very happy.

I would like to make a special mention of Alec. He was kind of a stand out in this one. You got to see him in a whole new light and I liked him more than I did before.

We get to meet Emma and Julian; the heroine and hero of The Dark Artifices. I quickly fell in love with these two. The things they had to go through, and at only twelve! They are actually in it a lot, and I am so glad they were. I’m even more excited for the Dark Artifices now. Bring on 2015!

The book hangover after reading this one was severe. I laughed, I cried, I was angry and shocked, and pleasantly surprised. I was held captive for all 733 pages. I didn’t feel like it was drawn out in anyway, which sometimes happens in big books. I am a huge Shadowhunter fan and I’m so glad there are more series to come; I can’t wait to read them. The fact this had a comic in the back was really awesome, and any Infernal Devices fans need to get their hands on it.

There are so many things I need to talk about but I won’t because I want to keep this spoiler free. I will leave you with this: READ IT! READ IT NOW! Fear not my fellow Shadowhunters, you will not be disappointed.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

4 thoughts on “Review: City Of Heavenly Fire By Cassandra Clare.

  1. It’s good that this is a series that is so consistant for you, Rochelle! When series’ are fantastic all the way through, and then other books set in the same world are too, that’s great!
    I haven’t read any of Cassandra Clare’s books (I’m pretty confused because there seem to be 3 different series and the characters seem to go to the same world or something along those lines- not knowing much about the storyline makes it all seem pretty confusing when I hear about it!) and I don’t plan to, but I’m glad this was a really enjoyable read for you. x

    1. Thanks, Romi. I didn’t think much of the series before I read it, but once I read them I liked them and then fell in love with them as the series progressed. There are a lot of these books, and each series deals with a different set of characters, but Cassandra made me fall in love with each of them. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

