Writing Tip Wednesday: Wise words from Maggie Stiefvater.

I read this great post on Maggie Stiefvater’s blog the other day and just had to share her wise words of advice with you.

She wrote the post because people (I’m assuming writers) were on twitter talking about some authors’ careers and whether they deserve their fame. Maggie is into race cars and has spent some time in race cars and on race tracks and says writing is a lot like driving a race car.

She says that when you are driving a race car you are told to ‘put your eyes up as far as you can see down the road, and look there. Only when you see the absolute farthest point can you start to calculate the best way of getting there.’

She goes on to say, ‘A writing career is like that. Use your peripheral vision to look at the things that are coming at you day to day, but never forget that every decision should contribute that farthest-away-point you want to get to. Never forget that every tiny success and failure is just a steer or counter steer toward the real point of the thing.

And here’s the other thing they tell you about keeping your eyes up: don’t fixate on the person in front of you…Eyes up, drivers, they say: look past the car in front of you. All you need to do is to note them well enough that you can pass them when you find a better way to take the turn.

Don’t fixate, writers. Eyes up, writers. I don’t care if x or y is doing a or b. What does that have to do with me? I have my eyes on where I want to go, and no one else matters.’

Do you find yourself doing this? I do sometimes and all it does is make me feel miserable, so I’m going to take Maggie’s advice and not fixate, keep my eyes up and worry about me. How about you?

6 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: Wise words from Maggie Stiefvater.

  1. I love Maggie Stiefvater! The more things that I read from her, be it books, tweets, or blogs, the more she becomes my hero. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  2. I’m always obsessing about the latest tidbit of information that I hear. I do fixate, but I’m learning to take it for what it is: their advice, their style, I know there are things I stick to regardless of what worries me, so I cling to them as being the right thing to do for me. Thanks for the post !

  3. When I write,m I write in a mad rush, just getting the general thoughts and storyline down on the page, not caring if I have plot holes yet or if I didn’t end up writing a plot line to the end, and then you can go back and read it and refine it again later. Last night I was re-watching some Vlogbrothers videos and I got to the video where John says that writing and like digging the clay out of the ground and the edits are really what shapes the writing into something beautiful, shaping it into a masterpiece. I found that really helpful advice and it has inspired me with my own writing. 🙂
    Love Maggie Stiefvater as well, she’s so inspirational. 😀 And yay for Sinner finally being out! Was released July 1st.

    1. I can’t wait to read Sinner. I’m on a book buying ban until August though. I don’t know how I’ll survive!
      I agree with John. I think of my first draft as the bones of the story and the drafts after that are adding the muscle and the flesh. It’s really freeing once you realise your first draft is allowed to be horrible.
      Good luck with your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

