A Writerly Update 39.

I’m feeling pretty miserable at the moment and it’s all because of school holidays. I have had one of the worst weeks, writing wise, in a long, long time.

I only managed to write on 2 days this week. 2 days. And
it’s killing me! I need to write, if I’m not writing, I don’t feel right.
I wrote a grand total of 2,900 words(I don’t include blog posts). Shocking. If I go more than one day without writing I start itching to jump back in, so to go days in a row without writing is like being covered head to toe in eczema. Okay, I’m being a little dramatic, but not writing drives me insane!

All I can say is bring on Tuesday! That’s when the kids go back to school. I only have to endure one more day. I love routine, I thrive when I’m sticking to a routine. The past two weeks my regular routine has been thrown out the window and I am desperate to get back into it.

What about you? How has your writing week been? How do you feel when you don’t get to write for a while? I’d love to hear from you, so don’t be shy.

12 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 39.

  1. It is painful not to be able to write. I empathize with you.
    I guess it comes down to that planning thing again. It might be worth while to sacrifice another day or two so you can figure out how to negotiate with your family so that you can spend time with them and still have time to devote to the things you need to do.
    Then again, I have been called anal retentive. A little OCD can go a long way, though.
    All the best for you and your writing for the remainder of school holidays.

    1. Thank you, Melanie. I think I will need to work something out so next holidays I don’t have the same thing happen. My son has ADHD which makes things a bit more difficult. He needs to be out of the house a lot because he can’t stand being inside for large amounts of time. I prefer to be inside and hate going out which makes it harder still.

  2. Ooh! And here’s a post that might help, too: http://elissafield.wordpress.com/2014/07/12/writing-process-how-to-write-on-the-beach/
    It’s by another writerly friend who has found a way to write just about anywhere 🙂
    Like us, she shares the healthy addiction to writing. She’s also a teacher with a family, so her solutions might ring truer for you than any suggestion I might have (chlidless by choice and with a super-supportive mate). I just have to content with the day job. Bad enough, but I couldn’t imagine having a family to care for and managing to carve out time.
    Virtual hugs.

  3. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to not only find the time, but the motivation as well. I struggle to maintain my blog some days. What about when the kids go to bed, are you able to crack open a laptop and do a little each night?

    1. I tired it but it doesn’t really work for me. I got into the routine of writing during the day when the kids are at school. I also do my blog posts at night. Besides, after 8pm I am worn out and way too tired to write anything good. Thanks for the suggestion anyway 🙂

  4. I feel your pain! At least you’ve been able to write a bit. I haven’t written anything for 2 weeks. With school holidays and work, any free time has been spent with the kids 🙂

    I’m trying to look at the positives and enjoying my family time, knowing my writing time is coming soon 🙂

  5. Being a student on holidays, I’m afraid I can’t sympathise. It’s been great for me writing-wise. But I hope things improve for you, you never know, it might inspire you to write more? 😉

    1. Yes, I remember when I was a student and how great holidays were. I used to write in the holidays as well. School holidays are completely different from the parents point of view. Glad you’ve been able to get some writing done 🙂

  6. Me too! Really need school to go back! My kids had 3 weeks off and even though they are older (13&16) but the amount of times they say ‘Hey Mum’ and they leave me to write ….but I know they are there making noise and watching TV and I just don’t get the same amount of writing done. Although I have to say I am pretty happy to hang around with then at home and be able to write But..bring on school!

Leave a Reply

