Mini Review:Take Back The Skies by Lucy Saxon.

Take back the skies

Publisher:Bloomsbury.
Release Date:June 3rd 2014.
Source:From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Catherine Hunter is the daughter of a senior government official on the island of Anglya. She’s one of the privileged – she has luxurious clothes, plenty to eat, and is protected from the Collections which have ravaged families throughout the land. But Catherine longs to escape the confines of her life, before her dad can marry her off to a government brat and trap her forever.

So Catherine becomes Cat, pretends to be a kid escaping the Collections, and stows away on the skyship Stormdancer. As they leave Anglya behind and brave the storms that fill the skies around the islands of Tellus, Cat’s world becomes more turbulent than she could ever have imagined, and dangerous secrets unravel her old life once and for all . . .

My Thoughts:

This had the potential to be a really great book. The premise was quite a strong one, the world Saxon had built was well imagined, and the airships were really interesting. But it fell flat.

I didn’t get into it at all and struggled to finish it. I just couldn’t connect with the characters, none of them grabbed me. Cat was much younger than I expected her to be and I didn’t like the way she behaved (what was with the slapping?).

In Anglya, children are collected at 13 and sent to war. But Cat soon learns that isn’t completely true. What was really happening to the children was rather shocking, and that part of the novel was the only part that mildly held my interest (and turned my stomach a little). Everything happened very easy for the characters, and a lot of the plot was fairly predictable, including the epilogue.

I am sorry that I didn’t like this one, it had so much potential. It wasn’t for me and I won’t be continuing on with this series.

But you might like it and might want to add it to Goodreads, which you can do here.

5 thoughts on “Mini Review:Take Back The Skies by Lucy Saxon.

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like it 😦 I’ve seen a few people love it, but most reviews seem to say what you (and I) said. A shame. I wonder if the sequel (or companion might be a better term – it’s based on a different character but in the same world) will be better.

Leave a Reply

