Review : More Than This By Patrick Ness.

more than this

Publisher: Walker Books.
Release Date: July 1st 2014 (Paperback.)
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis From Goodreads:

“Books are often described as ‘mind-blowing’ but this is one of the few books in which, while reading it, I have exclaimed aloud, ‘Oh. My. God.’ on multiple occasions … Just read it.”
John Green

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time.

My Thoughts:
5 out of 5 stars.

This book. How do I even start?

This book will mess with your mind. What did I just read? My mind is blown. Seriously. It’s the kind of book that you can’t really explain why everyone needs to read it, just that they do.
To really get the full impact of this book you should go into it without any prior knowledge of the events that occur in it, besides what you read on the back cover, so you can discover it for yourself. For this reason, I’m not going to tell you anything that happens in it. I will tell you that it is written different than usual, and that it is well written. It was also truly compulsive. Once I started reading I found it hard to stop, and only did stop when it was absolutely necessary. It was thought provoking to say the least.

More Than this is a dystopian thriller (I think?), and was one of the most chilling I have read. I was on the edge of my seat the whole way through. And some parts had me totally freaked out. I don’t read a lot of thrillers because I scare easily, so you might not find it as scary as I did, but I couldn’t read this at night because it freaked me out so much.

You are totally clueless about what is going on for most of the book because the main character is. And just when you think you’ve got it figured out, Ness throws in a twist that has you wondering if what you thought you figured out was true after all. This book is one big question mark, but that is what made it so brilliant.

It’s a stand out. A must read. And for those looking for diversity, it has it. It was a crazy ride, one that everyone should go on. What are you waiting for? Read it now.

For those who like to know, it does contain sexual references.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

6 thoughts on “Review : More Than This By Patrick Ness.

  1. I’m glad you loved this 😀 I haven’t read anything by Patrick Ness, but I think I own his books. I’ll be looking forward to them now! Thanks for sharing your review 🙂

Leave a Reply

