Writing Tip Wednesday: The Art Of Revision.

Pub(lishing) Crawl is a great source of writing advice from various writers. I was reading an article on there today by Kat Zhang where she shared how she revises. She had some great tips so I thought I would share it with you.

She confesses that her first drafts are always terrible. (So are mine, who’s isn’t?) She says that you should see your first draft as cloth and revision is what makes it into a dress or a blouse or a nice trench coat. I thought was a really great analogy.
She then gave three great tips for revising your first draft:
1. During a first draft, you figure out What Is My Story About. Also importantly, you figure out What Is My Story NOT About. During my first revision, I go back through my first draft and figure out what stays, and what goes, and what order the things that stay are going to happen in.
2.This sort of questioning trickles down to the chapter-level. What needs to be in this chapter? What is essential? Which characters needed to be introduced now, and which could wait? Which conflicts needed to be hinted at now? Which settings needed to be explored?
3.If it’s not essential, it gets cut. (by “cut,” I don’t mean wiped off the face of the earth. I usually save each draft as a new file, so anything I cut in draft 2 still exists in my draft 1 file. You never know when it might be useful again). Basically, your first step is going back to this mass of words you have and figure out the bones of your story. Make sure everything adheres to these bones. Make sure everything is needed.
You can read the rest of the article HERE.

Happy Writing, or I should say, Happy Editing 🙂

2 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: The Art Of Revision.

Leave a Reply

