A Writerly Update 42.

Hey everyone, welcome to this week’s writerly update.

I have had an odd week, writing wise, this week. For most of the week, I didn’t really feel like writing. For those of you who regularly read this update, you know that it usually kills me to go days without writing, so to go days without writing and not really caring all that much that I didn’t, meant something was wrong. It wasn’t writers block, when I actually forced myself to sit down and write, the words flowed. But something was wrong, I just couldn’t put my finger on it. Until yesterday.

I decided last week that I would focus solely on my novella. Since it is a lot shorter than a normal manuscript, I wanted to get the first draft out pretty quick. And this was what the problem was: working on one manuscript and one manuscript only.

You see, I’m a juggler. That’s just the way I am. I need to be working on more than one thing at a time. When I first starting writing, I did only work on one manuscript at a time, but as the years went by and the manuscripts/ideas began piling up, I started juggling them all and now, it seems, I can’t go back. I can easily juggle up to four manuscripts and a short story, working on bits of each during the week. I can write 3k in a day, but that 3k would be split into 3 lots of 1k over 3 different manuscripts. It’s the routine I’ve gotten into, and it works well for me. But trying to just focus on one thing, I was being something I’m not and was suffering for it. When I realised this, it was like a weight was lifted off of me.

I spent the weekend working on my novella, my middle grade novel and my urban fantasy too (which I now realise is more of a paranormal romance and will refer to it as such from now on.) I didn’t need to force myself to write, I didn’t avoid writing, I just wrote and it felt good.

So here’s my piece of advice: find out how you work best and do that. Don’t try and be like any other writer, don’t let people tell you what the best way to work is, just do what’s best for you, you will be happier for it.

(#It can be detrimental to go from manuscript to manuscript without actually finishing one. You will just end up with a long list of half finished manuscripts. Even though I work on a lot at once, I finish them all eventually. You won’t ever sell your manuscript if you never actually finish it. So even if you want to work on multiple manuscripts, make it  a goal to finish them.)

How was your writing week? I would love to hear from you.

Happy writing 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 42.

  1. Having the right routine is everything! When my writing time is restricted and I’m not able to do the same thing every day I feel so lost. All month I’ve been struggling with work commitments getting in the way of my writing and even though those things are outside of my control, I still feel awful that I haven’t gotten as much done as I’d originally planned. Here’s hoping that August will be all about writing and that I can actually make some meaningful progress.

    1. I need my routine, and if I fall out of it, it takes me a while to get back into it. Like you, I feel lost too when my writing time is restricted.
      I really hope August turns out to be a great writing month for you and things don’t get in the way.

  2. As you mentioned to me before, working on more than one thing at a time is a bit addictive. Once you get into the swing, you really don’t want to stop. But with regard to writing, I’m only working on the one novel and a short story right now.
    The mapping and stucturing and analysing in anticipation of revision uses a different part of my writerly brain and I don’t consider it in the same category as writing new words.
    I found that juggling too many things wasn’t allowing me to “get into the swing” with any of them, so I’ve opted to narrow the focus a bit, and it’s working well.
    For now.
    Inevitably, things will change. Often with the seasons 🙂
    Break a pencil with the novella, and all your other writing projects.

    1. Thanks.
      A lot of the time I am editing a manuscript while writing another one, but at the moment the manuscript I was editing is with the beta reader and because I chose to focus on editing that, I’m pretty much only writing at the moment while I wait to get my manuscript back.

Leave a Reply

