Waiting On Wednesday (14): Red Queen BY Victoria Aveyard.

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine. It’s a way to share the upcoming releases that we’re excited about. This week I have chosen Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. It releases February 10th 2015 ( So far away!)

Red Queen

Synopsis From Goodreads:

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood–those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself, where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a power of her own–an ability she didn’t know she had. Except . . . her blood is Red.

To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks her new position to aid the Scarlet Guard–the leaders of a Red rebellion. Her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince–and Mare against her own heart.

From debut author Victoria Aveyard comes a lush, vivid fantasy series where loyalty and desire can tear you apart and the only certainty is betrayal.

Why I Picked It:
This book sounds so amazing! I love, love, love fantasy and have high hopes for this.

You can add it to Goodreads here.
What about you? What are you waiting on?

17 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (14): Red Queen BY Victoria Aveyard.

  1. That does sound like a really good read! I will have to work it into my reading rotation, though right now I’m trying to read through books on loan from my brother (had them for quite some time… won’t say how long), including a pirate anthology called “Fast Ships, Black Sails.”

    1. I’m glad this one comes out next year because I don’t have any time to read it at the moment. I’m trying to read through books I’ve had on my shelf for a while.

      1. I fully appreciate that!I’ve been particularly bad about reading this past year or so. To combat that, I’ve been setting aside about a half hour before bed to read. It’s been helping, and I’ve begun looking for must reads to keep it going.

      2. Sounds like a good plan, I try and do the same, otherwise days slip by without any reading and I have reviews on my blog so I have to actually read so I can put the reviews up. I’ve just started a reading plan because I was slipping too far behind, hopefully I can stick to it.

  2. I am dying to read this! The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds like it’s perfect for me. Great pick! Thanks for stopping by our WOW!

    Amber R. @ Bibliophillia, Please

  3. This is a very striking yet creepy cover! I think it’s very eye catching, but I’m not entirely sure whether I’d pick up a book with that cover, for what it promises inside.

    1. I know! But it’s YA so it won’t get as bad as an adult fantasy with the same cover would (I think). But I love my epic fantasy so I am really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

