Waiting On Wednesday: Belzhar By Meg Wolitzer.

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine. It’s a way to share the upcoming releases that we’re excited about. This week I have chosen Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer. It releases September 30th 2014 in the US, and October 1st 2014 here in Australia. 

Belzhar

(US cover shown, the Australian cover isn’t final yet so I’ll go with this one.)

Here is the synopsis from the publisher:

I was sent here because of a boy. His name was Reeve Maxfield, and I loved him and then he died, and almost a year passed and no one knew what to do with me.

A group of emotionally fragile, highly intelligent teenagers gather at a therapeutic boarding school where they are mysteriously picked for ‘Special Topics in English’. Here, they are tasked with studying Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar and keeping a journal.

Each time the teens write in their diaries they are transported to a miraculous other world called Belzhar, a world where they are no longer haunted by their trauma and grief – and each begins to tell their own story.

From internationally bestselling author Meg Wolitzer, and published by John Green’s editor, Belzhar is a breathtaking and surprising story about first love, deep sorrow, and the power of acceptance.

Why I want to read it:

As soon as I read that it is about teens who write in a journal and get transported into another world I was hooked. It sounds like the kind of book I will love and can’t wait to get my hands on it.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

Waht about you? What are you waiting on?

2 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: Belzhar By Meg Wolitzer.

  1. Hadn’t heard of this but it sounds really interesting and I’m certainly adding it to my tbr! There’s just something about the synopsis that grasps my attention and makes me think “yes, this is going to be something”. Though, I’ve noted two books at least in the last fortnight that have boasted being published by John Green’s editor, which seems peculiar. I can see the drawcard it is, but also an odd thing to have in the synopsis.

    1. I had the same thought when I first heard about it. I am so excited and can’t wait to read it. Glad to hear you are going to add it to your TBR.
      I thought it was strange to boast it had the same editor as John Green as well, I don’t think it’s really needed, the synopsis is enough of a draw card.

Leave a Reply

