A Writerly Update 44.

Hey Everyone,

I haven’t done a whole lot of writing this week but I have been doing writing related stuff. I have decided to enter Pitch Wars with my YA epic fantasy. Pitch Wars has to be one of the best competitions around. The first round is the mentor round. 75 mentors pick one entry, plus one alternate, and help the mentee polish their manuscript until it shines in preparation for the agent round in November. Submissions close midnight on August 18th New York time.

You’ve only got your query and first chapter to impress the mentors with so I put the call out to my fellow Romance Writers of Australia members asking for volunteers to read my query and first chapter. Three wonderful ladies volunteered to critique it for me. Everyone was so helpful, I am so glad I joined the RWA.

So I’ve been polishing up my query and first chapter based off their notes and plan on entering tomorrow. You are only allowed to submit to 4 mentors. There were approximately 16 YA mentors that I thought were suitable for my genre. I’ve cut the list down to 8 and of those 8 I somehow managed to pick 2 mentors, but I’m still debating on who the other two will be, and time is running out! It is so hard because the ones left would all be perfect.

Besides working on my Pitch Wars submission, I sent a short story away.

I also posted the first installment of my linked short story series here on the blog. It is a YA sci-fi and I will posting a new episode every week. The first one is titled 9009 because I was struggling to come up with another name. The good news is that a title came to me as I was going to sleep last night. The series will be called….

The Amberly Chronicles.

I can’t wait to share the next installment with you.

That’s all from me. How has your writing week been? Anyone else entering Pitch Wars?

14 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 44.

  1. Break a pencil in Pitch Wars! I’ll be waiting with a worm on my tongue (baited vs. bated breath – LOL and eww) to hear about your experience.
    I haven’t written much this week either. Last weekend I went to When Words Collide in Calgary, and I’ve been absolutely bushed since. I didn’t think it would affect me so much, but then again I struggle with daylight savings every spring and fall.
    I didn’t have half as much trouble last year when I went to BC for the Surrey International Writers’ Conference, but at the time, I was on a five-week, self-funded leave from work and I was able to sleep the day I returned to reset my clock.
    As I get older, this kind of this affects me more and more. And I’m not that old!

  2. The Amberly Chronicles – I love that title! πŸ˜€ Wishing you the best of luck in Pitch Wars; some of my best friends (and absolutely amazing writers!) have gained agents and book deals through the competition in previous years, so I have faith in its ability to choose the best ones… πŸ˜‰

  3. Sounds fabulous – all the best with the pitching πŸ™‚

    Have you got a CP? I think I may have mentioned to you that I run the CP program for RWA. Happy for you to email me if you want any assistance with CPs.

    Good on you for putting your writing out there – well done πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you.

      I had a CP for the epic fantasy, but just wanted fresh eyes to go over it who hadn’t read it before.
      But I will be looking for a CP in the future with some of my other works so I’ll email you then πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

