Review + Giveaway: While We Run By Karen Healey.

Today I am reviewing ‘While We Run’ by Karen Healey, sequel to ‘When We Wake’. I have a paperback copy to giveaway to one lucky Australian reader! Details at the end of the post.
Note: as this is a sequel it will have spoilers for book one, though not for this book.

While we run

Release Date: April 2014.
Publisher: Allen and Unwin.
Source: Won.

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Abdi Taalib thought he was moving to Australia for a music scholarship. But after meeting the beautiful and brazen Tegan Oglietti, his world was turned upside down. Tegan’s no ordinary girl – she died in 2027, only to be frozen and brought back to life in Abdi’s time, 100 years later.

Now, all they want is for things to return to normal (or as normal as they can be), but the government has other ideas. Especially since the two just spilled the secrets behind Australia’s cryonics project to the world. On the run, Abdi and Tegan have no idea who they can trust, and when they uncover startling new details about Project Ark, they realise thousands of lives may be in their hands.

A suspenseful, page-turning sequel to When We Wake that will keep readers on the edge of their seats and make them call into question their own ideas about morality – and mortality, too.

My Thoughts:

All THE STARS!

Seriously, this book was beyond good. I thought I loved the first one, but this somehow managed to be even more amazing than the first.
While We Run is told from Abdi’s point of view, which I wasn’t expecting. Seeing everything through his eyes made me love him (and him and Tegan together) even more.

At the end of When We Wake, Tegan and Abdi hand themselves over to the government, who had them surrounded, after broadcasting the governments secrets about the cryonics project across the world.
I wasn’t sure what was going to happen to Tegan and Abdi once the government had them, but I hadn’t thought it would be that. They were forced, by torture, to tell the world that they were mistaken about the frozen migrants and children they found, that they weren’t slaves but actual volunteers on the airship the government is building to explore a new viable planet.
Their job is to get rich people to become private sponsors of the project by travelling around, spreading the lies they are forced to tell and performing.
The torture scenes broke my heart but thankfully they weren’t too graphic.

Tegan and Abdi are kept apart, forced to watch the other being tortured if they don’t ‘be good.’
Abdi’s handler, Diane, is one of the most despicable and evil villains I have ever read. Seriously. I didn’t even love to hate her, I just hated her.

The organisation ‘Save Tegan’ doesn’t believe the act the two teens are putting on. They rescue the teens, but they have an agenda of their own. With the government relentlessly hunting them, and not sure if they can trust their rescuers, Tegan and Abdi are put in an impossible position again and must make very hard decisions if they want to be free once and for all.

This book was full of twist and turns and heart pumping action. It had me on the edge of my seat. Abdi was totally captivating. He was distrusting of everyone and emotionally closed off. Considering his circumstances, his reactions were incredibly real. He wasn’t strong all the time and it was very endearing. I loved seeing how he felt about Tegan. And his reaction to her after being in such horrific circumstances I felt were very realistic as well.

I only had one niggle with this book – there is one scene that is very graphic in it’s violence and I felt a little sick reading it. Thankfully it was only one scene, and it didn’t bother me enough to rate this less than perfect.

While We Run was a amazing, edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller. It is one of my favourite dystopian books. I cannot recommend this enough. If you love dystopian, do yourself a favour and read this book.

*Although it was a sequel, you could still read it as a stand alone.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

AND NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY:

I have one paperback copy of While We Run to giveaway.

**Australian residents only.**

I’m trying out rafflecopter for the first time, so let me know if there are any problems.

*In the free entry box just put your initials or something because it won’t let you leave it blank.

Click HERE to enter.

7 thoughts on “Review + Giveaway: While We Run By Karen Healey.

  1. Okay I’m skimming the review because SPOILERS for book one (which I do own, but haven’t read yet). I’m glad that it was even better than the first. They both sound awesome!

    Oh, and for the giveaway, I follow you by email πŸ˜€

    (also, how good are the covers for these???)

    1. You should read it ASAP because I thought it was a 5 star read. And yes, the covers are awesome, plus one for diversity!

      Thanks for entering my giveaway πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t read When We Wake yet but it is sitting there waiting for me, and I like reading books with sequels together mainly cause I hate waiting! So I’m looking forward to getting a copy of this. I’ve heard such great reviews and they sound like fantastic books!
    I follow you on WordPress πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome review Rochelle, had to skim a little, as I haven’t read book one as yet but have a paperback copy. I absolutely love dystopians and I’ve heard how incredible the series is. It’s a shame that there was one overly violent graphic scene in there, if it made you feel a bit ill, I wonder how appropriate it is for YA then.

    I follow via BL ❀ That's for the awesome giveaway.
    Oh, and tomorrow I'm giving away a few copies of Belzhar, I know you've been dying to read it πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks!
      The scene I was talking about was probably the most graphic scene I’ve read in YA that I can remember. I’d definitely recommend it for older teens. I think the scene would have still worked with less detail, .

      And thanks for letting me know about your Belzhar giveway, but I’m getting a review copy πŸ™‚

      Good luck in my giveaway πŸ™‚ Hope you can read When We Wake soon, I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

