Waiting On Wednesday (17): WinterKill By Kate A. Boorman.

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine. It’s a way to share the upcoming releases that we’re excited about. This week I have chosen WinterKill by Kate A. Boorman. It releases September 9th 2014.

UK cover
UK cover
US cover
US cover

Synopsis From Goodreads:

Where Emmeline lives, you cannot love and you cannot leave…
The Council’s rules are strict, but they’re for the good of the settlement in which Emmeline lives. Everyone knows there is nothing but danger the other side of the Wall, and the community must prepare for the freezing winterkill that comes every year.
But Emmeline struggles to be obedient under the Council’s suffocating embrace – especially when she discovers that a Council leader intends to snatch her hand in marriage.
Then Emmeline begins to hear the call of the trees beyond the Wall…

Why I want to read it:
I was browsing the YA section of Bookworld, an online store here in Australia, and saw this one. I was drawn in by the cover (UK) and title. And then I read the synopsis and it sounds very dystopian, and I love a good dystopian. And the last line really grabbed my attention. Personally, I think being called by the trees sounds awesome and shows that it is (hopefully) going to have a bit of a different twist to it.

To be honest, if I had seen the US cover for this I would have dismissed it straight away thinking it was a thriller, and not even read the synopsis. And I would have missed out. A bad case of judging a book by it’s cover, I know, I know! I guess that’s why sometimes they have different cover for different countries. Just out of curiosity, which cover do you like the best?

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

What about you? What are you waiting on?

9 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (17): WinterKill By Kate A. Boorman.

  1. Can’t wait to read Winterkill! I love the sound of it, and glancing at the review ratings, so far it seems really positive. I hadn’t seen the UK cover yet, and I much prefer it to the US. Hope we both love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

