Book To Film: If I Stay Movie Review.

if I stay

Yesterday I went and saw If I Stay, the film based on the book by Gayle Forman. I loved the book and I am pleased to say that I loved the movie. It’s been a few years since I’ve read the book, but from what I can remember they stuck to the book pretty well.

When school is cancelled due to the snow, Mia and her family decide to go for a drive. They get in an accident and Mia wakes up and sees herself lying unconscious on the road. She realises she is dying and that she has been given the chance to decide if she will stay or give up on life. While making her decision, she can see everyone around her, hear them talking to her unconscious self, but they can’t see her. She has a lot of flashbacks to important moments in her life, including how she met and fell in love with her boyfriend, Adam.
These flashback scenes were done so well that while they were on I would be so wrapped up in them that I forget that Mia was in an accident and would get a little shock when brought back to the present.

I really enjoyed how Adam and Mia’s story unfolded. It was achingly romantic, and both actors played their parts well.
While being a great love story, it was also a story of family. Mia had such a wonderful, loving and supportive family that my heart absolutely broke for them.

Overall this was a brilliant, heart breaking story of love and hope. If you loved the book this will not disappoint you. It was so good; go and see it now. And don’t forget your tissues. Seriously, be prepared for the feels. It is a highly emotional story and I was crying through a lot of it.

A must watch for all YA fans. I am voting this a successful book to film adaptation.

20 thoughts on “Book To Film: If I Stay Movie Review.

  1. I’m so desperate to see this! I’m super glad you enjoyed it! It looks like I’ll have to wait a week or so before I see it. Did you know the actor who plays Adam is British?

    1. Wow, I didn’t know the actor who played Adam was British, he pulled off the American accent well.
      I hope you enjoy it as much as did when you get to see it πŸ™‚

  2. Great film review! I didn’t seem to love the novel like everyone else, however, in saying that, I am still interested in seeing the film. I’ve watched the trailer and it looks pretty good! And also, that has to be one of the best tie-in editions of the book I’ve ever seen. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi!

    That was a great review! I have the book of this and I really want to read it, I’ll probably wait until I have read it and then watch the movie.

    πŸ˜€ Glad you liked it, Shaheen

    1. Thank you. I hope you get to read the book soon, I really loved it. It’s not a large book either so you should be able to read it fairly quick. Hope you enjoy the film and the book πŸ™‚

  4. Awesome movie review! I’ve been so excited for this movie, but haven’t managed to see it yet. I loved the book, so I’m really keen to see how it portrays on screen.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Have a great week! πŸ™‚

  5. I watched this one on the weekend and enjoyed it as well. Not so much for the romance, but for the family dynamics. I might be in the minority, but I would rather the film focus more on the family than on the romance! At first I didn’t think I’d cry, but once the part with her grandpa occurred, I was sobbing like a baby! Wonderful review Rochelle, I’m glad you enjoyed it xx

    1. Mia’s family was one of the best families portrayed in YA, and it was so tragic what happened to them 😦 And the part with the grandpa was so so sad – that’s where both my sister and I broke down too.
      I’m glad you liked the movie too πŸ™‚

  6. I loved the book but was quite disappointed in the movie unfortunately 😦 I only read the book about a month ago for the first time so perhaps it was because it was so fresh I could see the differences and while I’m ok with changes there were some things that I felt really took from the freshness of the story. I really didn’t like how they drew out the deaths of her family in order to increase the drama in her ghostly/present part of the story. The acting by Mia was also a bit lacklustre though I loved the portrayal of Adam. The scene stealer for me is when they were all jamming including Mia on the cello to Smashing Pumpkins Today – that was a goosebump moment!

    1. Sorry you didn’t like it as much. It’s been years since I read the book and that helped I think. I didn’t mind Mia’s acting, though my sister didn’t think much of it. I loved that scene too. When her grandfather was telling her she could go, I was in tears. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Very nice review, Rochelle! I’m super keen to see the film already, but this solidates that keenness; I’m really fond of the books, too, and I think the casting and trailers have all seemed great, and the reviews I’ve read are all pretty positive, so I’m super excited to see what I think for myself. Am happy it wasn’t a let down for you!

    1. I hope you get to see it soon. It’s been so long since I read the book though that I wasn’t sitting there the whole time comparing it to the book, but from what I can remember they got it right. Hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

