A Writerly Update 47.

Hey everyone,

I’m sorry it has been quiet on the blog the last few days but I have been sick. My house has been full of sickness and frankly I am sick of it. My husband came down with the flu last weekend and ended up having Monday and Tuesday off work. My daughter also got it and ended up having Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday off school. My son woke up with it on Wednesday and had Wednesday, Thursday and Friday off school. I started coming down with it Wednesday night and ended up with my worst case of the flu this year. I pretty much just slept for three days.
Needless to say, I didn’t get much writing done this week.

Last week I got notes back from my beta reader who was looking at my YA fantasy. I decided I would let her comments digest, and some of the changes I plan on making on it ‘brew’ for a while before I dive into another edit, so I pulled out Rift, the ya sci-fi I’m working on. I hadn’t look at it for a while and it had been on my mind. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to stick to first person perspective with it so I started changing it to third person. I’ll do this for a few chapters and compare. I only changed one chapter before I got sick – it was slow going since I had sick people to take care of.

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve gotten a good amount of writing time in and can’t wait for the week ahead. If I can get in a few hours of writing every day over the next week I’ll be over the moon.

How about you? How was your writing week?

10 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 47.

  1. Get better soon! It’s my understanding that this is going around; I’ve been sick myself and actually had to leave work early on Wednesday to see the doctor. Needless to say, my writing was stalled and my house is a mess.

  2. For me, it’s been a stint of training at work. I managed to get out of travelling for the training but just the fact that introvert me has to get up and deliver and interact with a group seems to have ratcheded the effects of training up a level. I have been absolutely exhausted. I’ve trained on five other occassions in the last year (three of them requiring travel) and did not feel it so intensely.
    I think it’s just another confirmation that I really need to find a way out of the day job sooner than later.
    Needless to say, I’ve not managed much in the way of writing this week either. This weekend is proving to be productive, though, and I think I can live with it. For now 😛
    Hope the illen leaves your household soon!

    1. It sounds exhausting! I’m an introvert too so I understand, you poor thing. There is always something that pops up to steal writing time, isn’t there? I’m glad your weekend turned out to be productive.

  3. I hope you get better soon, Rochelle! The flu is the worst. =/ I once changed a novel from third person to first (the opposite of what you’ve started doing :P) and it took me forever! But completely worth it when I realized that the manuscript was so much better for it.

  4. Argh that’s no good 😦 My writing is not going so well. I’m in transition mode at the moment working out whether I pitch to Australian agents, become more involved in the literary industry first, look to publish overseas, or keep on with book two..so yeah. Hope you get back into it all soon!

    1. All big decisions and sometimes it’s hard to know what to do. I’ve been thinking a lot about agents lately and it is hard deciding whether to go for Australian agents or try overseas. You need to think big picture and what you want out of your career 5, 10 years from now. I use to be certain I’d go for an Australian agent until I realise there were only like 5 who represented what I was writing. I may not have a choice but to go overseas. You have to go with your gut. Good luck with your decision.

      1. Seems we are thinking alike. If I go with agents I think I’ll need to polish my query to perfection. No second chances. Even though my setting is Australia, my book is more suited to US market :S

      2. My non fantasy books I like to set in Australia as well, but I think they would have overseas appeal. I’m not ready to query just yet, but soon and yes it’s so important to have the query polished to perfection because unfortunately one chance is all anyone gets.

Leave a Reply

