The Jewel Blog Tour: Interview + Giveaway!!!

Welcome to my stop on The Australian The Jewel blog tour. Today I will be interviewing the lovely author, Amy Ewing, as well as giving away 3 copies of The Jewel!!!

First, here’s a bit about it:

The Jewel

Synopsis From Goodreads:

“Today is my last day as Violet Lasting. Tomorrow I become Lot 197.”

The Jewel is a shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing.

Sold for six million diamantes, Violet is now Surrogate of the House of the Lake in the centre of the Lone City, the Jewel. Her sole purpose is to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess – a woman Violet fears and despises.

Violet is trapped in a living death, her name and body no longer her own. She fights to hold on to her own identity and sanity, uncertain of the fate of her friends, isolated and at the mercy of the Duchess.

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide.

I LOVED The Jewel, you can check out my review HERE.

And now let’s welcome Amy…

Where did the inspiration for The Jewel come from?

The concept for THE JEWEL came from a lazy Sunday afternoon I spent watching movies on basic cable. TAKEN came on, and I thought to myself, “Sure, why not? I like Liam Neeson.” There is a scene when his daughter (the one who gets taken) is paraded onto a stage and bid on by powerful men who want to buy her as, essentially, a sex slave. As I watched that scene, I wondered to myself what it would be like if, instead of men, it was women bidding on her. Why would a woman buy another woman? I thought at first it would be to carry their children for vanity purposes. Why go through nine months of hormones and stretch marks and dietary restrictions when you can have some other girl do it for you? Slowly the idea evolved to the point that these women needed these girls. That generations of inbreeding had caused too much chromosomal damage, and that these surrogates had the power to fix it. And so, the Auction was born, and Violet’s story came to life.

In The Jewel music plays a big part in Violet’s life, does music play a part in your life?

It does! I play guitar and write my own songs. Music can be extremely healing. It can remind you of a specific time in your life, or pick you up when you’re down, or express a feeling you’re having in a way that is exactly perfect and you’d never have thought of on your own.

There were some beautiful dresses depicted in The Jewel, do you have a favourite?

Oh absolutely. The dress Violet wears to Garnet’s engagement party is hands down my favourite. It’s based on a dress I found during one of numerous Google image searches. Strapless, pale green, with a skirt like flower petals encrusted with diamonds. What could be more Jewel than that?

Which character in The Jewel do you most relate to?

I feel like this is the lame choice, but I’d have to go with Violet. We’re both musically talented (though Violet outstrips me by far), we’re both stubborn, a bit romantic, and fiercely loyal to our friends.

Is there anything at all that you can share with us about book 2?

All I can say is that you’ll get to explore some of the other circles of the Lone City. And meet some exciting new characters!

Can you tell us a bit about your path to publication?

I was at the end of my MFA program in Writing for Children at the New School, and about to enter my thesis semester. The book I had been working on for most of my time at school had just been soundly rejected by about a million agents, and I’d finally acknowledged that it just wasn’t the right first project. So I put all my focus into THE JEWEL. I was so fortunate to have an awesome peer group of writers to guide and support me that semester, as well as an amazing thesis advisor. I somehow managed to finish the draft and revise it twice in those four months, and when the time came to query again, it was a very different experience than with my previous book. Within two weeks, I had signed with my agent and two weeks after that I had a deal with HarperCollins. Needless to say, it was one of the best months of my life.

What advice would you give to aspiring authors out there?

Don’t give up! This business is hard, and it can take a lot of work and a lot of books before you find the one that clicks with agents and editors. That’s ok. It doesn’t make you a bad author. All you need is one yes. So just keep writing!

And just for fun: If you could have any superpower what would it be?

This might sound silly, but I’d love to be able to erase books that I’ve read and loved from my mind and then read them over again as if I’d never read them before. Though that would probably mean I’d spend my days reading Harry Potter over and over and over again…no, wait, I’m totally fine with that. If I had to pick an actual superpower, I’d like to be able to fly. I have a horrible fear of heights and I always thought that maybe if I could fly, I wouldn’t be so afraid.

Thank you so much Amy for joining me on the blog today 🙂

Don’t forget to hop on over to the other stops on the tour:

Thursday, September 18th Diva Book Nerd
Friday, September 19th Inside My Worlds
Saturday, September 20th Books for a Delicate Eternity
Sunday, September 21st Thoughts by J
Monday, September 22nd Kids Book Review
Tuesday, September 23rd Striking Keys
Wednesday, September 24th Genie in a Book
Thursday, September 25th Fictional Thoughts
Friday, September 26th Book Much

@amyewingbooks | amyewingbooks.com

AND NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!!

Thanks to Walker Books Australia, I have 3 paperback copies to give away to Australian residents.

*There is a free entry so you don’t have to be following me to enter 🙂

Just click this link, it’s easy as.

3 thoughts on “The Jewel Blog Tour: Interview + Giveaway!!!

  1. I totally wish I could erase books from my mind so I could read them again! That. Would. Be. Awesome. Imagine re-reading the Harry Potter books for the first time again?? I have a copy of this, and after reading the interview, I’m looking forward to diving into it. Th author sounds great! 😀

Leave a Reply

