Review: Paradigm By Ceri A Lowe.

Paradigm

Release Date: June 13th 2014.
Publisher:Bookouture.
Source: From publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What if the end of the world was just the beginning?

Alice Davenport awakens from a fever to find her mother gone and the city she lives in ravaged by storms – with few survivors.

When Alice is finally rescued, she is taken to a huge underground bunker owned by the mysterious Paradigm Industries. As the storms worsen, the hatches close.

87 years later, amidst the ruins of London, the survivors of the Storms have reinvented society. The Model maintains a perfect balance – with inhabitants routinely frozen until they are needed by the Industry.

Fifteen-year-old Carter Warren knows his time has come. Awoken from the catacombs as a contender for the role of Controller General, it is his destiny to succeed – where his parents failed.

But Carter soon discovers that the world has changed, in ways that make him begin to question everything that he believes in. As Carter is forced to fight for those he loves and even for his life, it seems that the key to the future lies in the secrets of the past…

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

I was so surprised by this book. In a really good way. This is a dystopian that actually stood out from the rest. I must admit I was expecting your regular, run of the mill dystopian (which would have been okay because I still like dystopian) but it actually felt very original thanks to a unique twist.

What makes Paradigm a stand out is the perspectives it’s told in. We see from the perspective of 15 year old carter, and 12 year old Alice. But their stories are 87 years apart. Carter is living in his present (which is our future), and Alice is in Carter’s past.

The story was a little confusing to begin with. We start with Carter who is being reanimated after being frozen for 15 years. I had no idea why he had been frozen and awoken. And then we switch to Alice who is stuck at home sick when violent storms start, destroying the city. Alice is rescued by an organisation name The Industry. They take her to an underground facility that they built, along with the many others they rescued. The Industry takes special interest in her, she has that special something, kind of like a born leader, and she has a way of thinking the Industry desires. She is trained by them and once the storms recede, Alice is one of the main contributors to the rebuilding of society.
The more the story unravelled, the deeper I fell into it. It kept getting better the more it progressed and by the end I couldn’t put it down.

At first I was more engaged by Alice’s story and didn’t care that much for Carter’s – not that it wasn’t interesting, his was just a little more confusing, a little slower. But by the end my feelings had been reversed. Carter had stole my heart and I liked how he reacted when his eyes were opened to why there was discord amongst the people. I cooled to Alice a lot by the end. Hers was a case of thinking she was doing what was best for the people but in my opinion was a bad choice. She was chillingly real and although I didn’t agree with her thinking, I could understand it and could see how she convinced people to set up a society the way she did.

Paradigm answered the question of how a society transformed from what we know to a future one, and it I think it answered it well. The last quarter was full of twists and plenty of action, and I loved how the two stories intertwined. It isn’t heavy on the romance, but the romance that does blossom between Alice (once she is older) and a boy she befriended in The Industry was sweet. I really enjoyed it and was heart broken by the thing that happened.
Overall, Paradigm was an enjoyable read, one I would highly recommend to fans of YA dystopian, especially for those looking for a fresh twist in a saturated genre. I can’t wait for book two.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

4 thoughts on “Review: Paradigm By Ceri A Lowe.

  1. The cover really threw me off because it looks like Divergent….but reading your review, I’m glad to know that it’s nothing at all like Divergent. This book actually sounds really good! I’m really interested in how Alice and Carter’s world ends up crossing. Haven’t really seen this around bookshops before, but might be because I walk past thinking it’s Divergent, heh. Wonderfull review Rochelle xx

    1. It’s been getting a lot of criticism for the cover, but it is nothing like Divergent. I haven’t seen it in bookshops either, I’m not sure it is release in Australia yet.

Leave a Reply

