A Writerly Update 49.

The kids are on school holidays, and when they are on holidays I don’t get as much writing done as usual. So this holidays, thanks to a suggestion from a blogging friend, I challenged myself to write 10k. (Two weeks.)

The daily totals so far:

Monday 22nd September I wrote 771 words.
Tuesday 23rd September I wrote 596 words.
Wednesday 24th September I wrote 202 words.
Thursday 25th September I wrote 1088 words.
Friday 26th September I wrote 338 words.
Saturday 27th September I wrote 1098 words.

Today I edited and posted episode four of my YA sci-fi The Amberly Chronicles.

Bringing my total to 4093 words.

Which leaves 8 days to write 5907 words – roughly 739 words a day. Hopefully that’s doable. It really has helped challenging myself.

I can’t wait for October 1st. I’m going to start a new draft of my YA epic fantasy. The ideas have been simmering and I’m actually really excited about jumping into it. I won’t be able to work on it as much I would like for the first week of October because of the school holidays, but as soon as the kids go back I am going to dedicate a lot of time to it because I want the draft done in a month.

That’s it from me, how about you? How was your writing week?

10 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 49.

    1. Thank you. It certainly helps to set yourself a goal and then put it on your blog. Once it’s out in the world you have that bit of extra motivation to reach the goal you’ve set.

  1. I know exactly how you feel! My blog and creative writing has fallen by the wayside because I’m not keeping on top of things. I’ll get it back soon! I’m impressed by how much you’ve achieved over the school holidays – they are kind of a ‘write-off’ for me 🙂

    1. I’ve set myself the challenge these holidays because I usually don’t get much writing done during the holidays. It has really helped and I would urge any writer with children to set their own challenge. It helps when you have someone to hold you accountable.

  2. You’re doing really well so far, I’m sure you’ll be able to complete your goals.Though I can imagine that school holidays will take a large portion of your writing time away. Have fun with your new project, too. I LOVE starting new stories! 🙂

  3. I knew I wouldn’t get to write much because of the holidays, but I have done pretty much nothing at all. My 8 year old can only go for so long without bouncing around me, and I find that the guilt I feel ends up creating this awful behavior pattern where I feel too guilty that I’m not entertaining the kids so I don’t work, so I get depressed, and then I’m too depressed to entertain them which in turn makes me do – nothing 😦

    1. I’m usually the same, which is why I set myself this challenge. I give myself an hour everyday. Just one hour. Sometimes I can get only 200 words out, sometimes just over 1000. But at least it’s something. Like you, I get depressed when I don’t write and this challenge has just been the motivation I needed.

Leave a Reply

