Review: The Secret Of Ella And Micha By Jessica Sorenson.

Ella and Micha

Release Date: April 11th 2013.
Publisher: Sphere.
Source: Free in the goodie bag I received at the Hachette Bloggers night.

Synopsis From Goodreads:
Ella and Micha have been best friends since childhood, until one tragic night shatters their relationship and Ella decides to leave everything behind to start a new life at college, including Micha.

But now it’s summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home. Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else. And he’s determined to win back the girl he lost, no matter what it takes.

My Thoughts:

3.5 stars.

I don’t read a lot of New Adult, and I wouldn’t have read this if I hadn’t been given a copy, but I ended up enjoying it. It was a sweet, sexy romance about next door neighbours who are in love but have failed to get together as one thing and another stood in the way.

Micha’s the kind of neighbour girls dream about having. He was sweet and kind and absolutely in love with Ella. He was very persistent in his pursuit of her, and on the odd occasion he was a little too pushy for my liking.

Ella has a tragic past. She is broken, and had run away without telling anyone where she went. She is suddenly back in town and completely different from when she left. Not only in the way she dresses, but in the way she acts.

Micha tries to get the old Ella to resurface again, and slowly as the novel progresses, it does, and I think she found a nice balance between the old Ella and the new Ella.

I enjoyed the friendship between Ella and her collage room mate, Lila, who ends up spending some of the break with Ella. I liked the side story between Lila and Ethan, Micha’s friend. They were clearly attracted to each other. It was very early for them and they don’t jump into a whirl wind romance in this book, but they get their own book and I think it would be very interesting.

There was great tension between Ella and Micha. There was a lot of steam between them but I, personally, was glad the heat level wasn’t too high.

Overall it was an interesting, sweet and steamy romance. I didn’t find myself swept up in it, but I did enjoy it. I would recommended it for lovers of sweet but steamy contemporaries with bad boys who have heart, and a feisty girl he shares great chemistry with.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Secret Of Ella And Micha By Jessica Sorenson.

  1. I’m not all that interested in New Adult, though I have read a couple here and there. In saying that though, I do keep hearing good things from this author, so maybe, I’ll give it a shot. And considering I have a soft spot for bad boys, I might just be persuaded. 🙂

Leave a Reply

