Waiting On Wednesday (20): Monstrous Affections.

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine. It’s a way to share the upcoming releases that we’re excited about. This week I have chosen Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales editing by Kelly Link and Gavin J. Grant. It releases here in Australia on November 1st 2014. (This was released overseas September 9th 2014.)

Monstrous Affections

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly imaginative volume.

Predatory kraken that sing with – and for – their kin; band members and betrayed friends who happen to be demonic; harpies as likely to attract as to repel. Welcome to a world where humans live side-by-side with monsters, from vampires both nostalgic and bumbling, to an eight-legged alien who makes tea. Here you’ll find mercurial forms that burrow into warm fat, spectral boy toys, a Maori force of nature, a landform that claims lives, and an architect of hell on earth. Through these, and a few monsters that defy categorization, some of today’s top young-adult authors explore ambition and sacrifice, loneliness and rage, love requited and avenged, and the boundless potential for connection, even across extreme borders.

With Monstrous Stories By
M. T. Anderson
Paolo Bacigalupi
Nathan Ballingrud
Holly Black
Sarah Rees Brennan
Cassandra Clare
Nalo Hopkinson
Dylan Horrocks
Nik Houser
Alice Sola Kim
Kathleen Jennings
Joshua Lewis
Kelly Link
Patrick Ness
G. Carl Purcell

Why I picked it?
I love speculative fiction anthologies, and this one has some of my fav authors so I can’t pass it up.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

What about you? What are you waiting on?

8 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (20): Monstrous Affections.

  1. I’m not usually a fan of short stories, but I am a fan of quite a few of those authors so I may have to check this out! Great pick!

  2. Anthologies, admittedly, aren’t my favourite things, though now that I’ve been made aware of this, I think I’ll end up reading it. It looks really good! And lately I’ve been trying to broaden my reading tastes, so anthologies might be a good place to start. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

