Review: The Book of Days by K.A.Barker #aww2014

The Book of Days is the 17th book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge.

Book of Days

Release Date: September 1st 2014 (Australia)
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia.
Source: Author/Pan Macmillan Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis From Goodreads:

Most people believe the best way to forget someone is to throw them down a well. Or lock them in a room with eight keys, or bury them at a crossroad in the thirteenth hour. But they’re wrong. The best way to forget someone is for them never to have existed in the first place.

Madame Marisol’s Unreality House was where you brought people to make that happen.”

When Tuesday wakes from sleep for the first time at sixteen, she opens her eyes to a world filled with wonder – and peril. Left with only a letter from the person she once was, Tuesday sets out to discover her past with the help of her charming and self-serving guide, Quintalion.

Along the way she runs into one-legged mercenaries, flying cities, airships, and a blind assistant librarian. But danger lurks amidst the steam. The leader of the merciless Daybreakers is hunting her, convinced that she killed the only woman he ever loved. Tuesday will need all her wits about her to survive long enough to find out who she is and her connection with the mysterious Book of Days: a book that holds untold power…

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

What a ride! I really enjoyed The Book of Days. It was a well-written fantasy with a steampunk twist set in a fantastical world. It begins with one of my favourite things in this novel: The Unreality House. The Unreality House was a fabulous and creative creation. When you are asleep in the Unreality House, no one on the outside remembers who you are. Our heroine, Tuesday has been asleep in the Unreality House for the past 10 years, until one night she is woken up.

Enter Quintalion in all his swaggering glory. Quintalion is one of my favourite characters, though he is one among many. He has a note to collect a girl from the Unreality House. Which he does. He is happy to let her go off on her own once he has played his part, but Tuesday had no idea who she was, the only clue a note from herself begging her to forget about her past and focusing on making a happy future for herself, and pays Quintalion to be her guide in this strange world she can’t remember.

Tuesday soon finds herself confronted by Sterling, the leader of the Daybreakers – a group trying to eliminate all the magic and old ways from the land – who claims she has committed a terrible crime. She finds herself on the run, desperate to figure out who she is and if she really did commit this horrible crime. Sterling turned out to be an outstanding villian with a lot of depth and I found myself hoping he would be redeemed and switch to the side of good.

What I found really fascinating about this book was how the world dealt with the rise of industry and the effect that has on the ways of magic. It’s a world divided by the old way and the new and shows the struggles between the people on opposite sides.

Another thing I loved about this book was the great cast of characters. They were all well rounded and held real depth. They each had their own history and story and personalities that leapt off the pages and made me care for them. One that stole my heart in particular was Jack (Jacobi.) He didn’t let his disability stand in his way and was quick to make light of it. He was so sweet and brave, and I liked the connection he shared with Tuesday.

Book of Days was an adventurous, fun, fantastical read. A great fantasy that I would highly recommend to fans of the genre. I would very much welcome another book set in this world and look forward to reading more from this author.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

13 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Days by K.A.Barker #aww2014

  1. This one looks fantastic! I really want to read this book time time, especially now after reading this review. I also love the fact that the author is Australia — earlier this year I told myself I was going to read more books published by Australians, so I’ll definitely have to bump this one up my TBR list. Great review! 🙂

    1. I love Australian books! So glad you want to read more books published by Australians. I find it so important to support the Australian writing industry, especially since I want to be a part of it. And honestly, we have great authors with great books! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      1. You’re exactly right — it’s very very important to support the Aussie publishing industry. Honestly though, it was never really something that I thought about until I started writing, you know? Possibly because I hadn’t realized just how much effort it take to write a novel.

      2. I know. It’s only in the last few years that I’ve made Australian books a priority. I never really discovered them before that. I would love to see more Australians reading Australian books, we’ve had some great YA come out in the last few years and I try and make sure I review at least one Aussie book a week.

  2. Ooh, Aussie Women’s Writers Challenge? I haven’t heard of that one before. This one sounds incredible, and have had it on my list for a little while now. Completely agree, I try to support Aussie authors as much as possible, in fact, some of my favourites have been Aussie YA series, like Chasing the Valley. Even better than THG in my opinion. Aussie YA is running rampant in Oz at the moment, it’s probably the most popular I’ve ever seen it.

    Brilliant review Rochelle, have to grab a copy of this when I’m on Bookworld next ❤

    1. I love Australian books and am so happy to see it really taking off. It’s probably the most popular I’ve seen it too.
      The Australian Women Writers challenge is awesome and I’ve participated for the past few years. When you sign up you pledge to read and review how many books by Australian Women Writers that you want. There is a Goodreads group and you link up your reviews on their website. Here’s the link to more info. I hope you’ll consider joining. http://australianwomenwriters.com/2014-challenge/

  3. I had to skim your review lovely because I’m reading it at the moment, but boy it is such an adventure with a really colourful cast! I am really enjoying it and I have met the author and she is wonderful as well. Great review Rochelle! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

