Review: Heir Of Fire By Sarah J. Maas.

Heir of fire 3

Release Date: September 11th 2014.
Publisher: Bloomsbury.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Consumed by guilt and rage, Celaena can’t bring herself to spill blood for the King of Adarlan. She must fight back…

The Immortal Queen will help her destroy the king – for a price. But as Celaena battles with her darkest memories and her heart breaks for a love that could never last, can she fulfil the bargain and head the almighty court of Terrasen? And who will stand with her?

My Thoughts:

ALL THE STARS!!!

Words cannot express how brilliant this book was, but since this is a review I guess I’ll have to try.
Each book in this series so far has been amazing, and I have loved each one, but Maas has really outdone herself with this one.

My mind is reeling so much from the ending that it’s hard to focus on the rest of the book, but again, I’ll try.
This is a big book – and I love big books so I was so happy – my copy is 562 pages, and for a lot of this Celaena is finding herself, which was a very important step she needed to take in order to fulfill her destiny. Celaena was brilliant in this book. I loved her, loved her character development. And oh my gosh, I had no idea how powerful she really was!

*This will be slightly spoilery for the other books in the series but I will try to avoid spoilers for this book.*

Celaena has been sent to Wendlyn to assassinate the royal family. She is intercepted by a fae warrior named Rowan and taken to see the Fae Queen, Maeve. She asks Maeve to tell her where she can find the wyrdkeys so she can stop the King of Adarlan. Maeve agrees to help her if she agrees to be trained by Rowan. Celaena agrees and stays in a place called Mistward, a protected home for half breeds that still has magic. Rowan trains Celaena to use her magic. He is a harsh teacher and brings her to her breaking point. She must confront her past to face her future and we finally get to learn the whole of her past and how she got to be the way she is.

There was a great cast of new characters in this book and Rowan was just one of them. He came across brutish to me at first, but as he slowly helped Celaena take control of her power, he grew on me, and then something happened that I never expected – I half wished for Celaena and Rowan to get together. As a huge Chaol fan I am now pretty torn. I’m not ready to fully let go of Chaol, but if something were to happen to him (I hope it doesn’t) I wouldn’t mind Rowan stepping up.

Chaol has his own things to figure out in this book. He becomes more involved with the rebels and must work out where his true loyalties lie. In this installment we see just how truly innocent the young captain is. One thing for certain is that he will do anything for Celaena.

Dorian’s story line was so unexpected and so awesome, but I don’t want to ruin anything for you so I won’t go into the details. I can’t believe how things ended for him – I did not see that coming. I loved Dorian more in this book than I did in the others.

I can’t end this review without mentioning Manon. Manon is a witch, and it is through her we get to learn more about the witch clans. She would be considered evil, or at least on the side of evil, so I never thought I would sympathise with her, but her story was just so interesting and she had real depth that brought her to life. I am worried what the future will hold for her in the other books.

I cannot wait for book 4 and I am so, so glad this is a 6 book series. I need more of these awesome characters now!
Heir of Fire was amazing. It blew my mind. A truly epic fantasy from a master storyteller. This book will draw you in, hold you captivated and leave you breathless. I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE

17 thoughts on “Review: Heir Of Fire By Sarah J. Maas.

  1. YES HOW GOOD IS IT? A bit too many viewpoints for me, but I really really enjoyed it. My favourite was The Assassin’s Blade out of all of them, but I cannot WAIT for the rest in the series (although the fourth doesn’t even have a title yet…I seriously need to know!!)

    1. I read adult epic fantasy so I am use to multiple view points and actually love it. I am yet to read the Assassin’s Blade, but so glad I have that to read because after reading Heir of Fire I need more now! I need book 4 and 5 and 6 ASAP.

  2. I haven’t read any of these books but everyone’s been talking about them – I really need to start! But where? WHAT IS THE FIRST BOOK? I’m so behind…
    I skipped your spoilery bits, but great review πŸ™‚ haha

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚

      The first book is Throne of Glass.
      Crown of Midnight is the second book, and Heir of Fire the 3rd. There are four Novellas which you can buy in one book called The Assassin’s Blade, which is set before Throne of Glass so you can read that fist if you want. Hope that helps. If you like high fantasy this is a really outstanding series.

  3. I LOVE THIS SERIES! AAAAAH! I’ve already read the first book twice and then about two weeks ago I read the sequel and a couple of days ago I read the Assassin’s Blade. Oh my goodness it’s SO GOOD. I’m so glad you loved it. But tell me one thing: Team Chaol or Dorian. I have no idea and it is really confusing me because I always no which side I’m on. I’m glad you loved it!

  4. Awesome review!! I can’t wait to read this; in fact, I plan to read it very very very soon, and I’m expecting a lot from this, I have to admit! But considering that I have loved the previous books, I’m sure I’m going to LOVE this. *sighs dreamily* Chaol…

  5. Yaaay so glad you loved this as well Rochelle! It was truly amazing, and I just cannot wait for Celaena and Manon to meet. It will be epic! I actually grew a little sick of Chaol, but felt a lot more respect for Dorian. Needless to say, bring on book 4!!!

  6. I was definitely a huge fan of this book, and it is very nearly my favourite in the series so far (that title goes to The Assassin’s Blade).

    I loved the introduction of the new characters, even though I thought I wouldn’t. I’ve never been a huge fan of having to get to know people halfway through a story, but these characters were so awesome, I didn’t mind at all.

    I kind of shipped Celaena and Rowan, as well, but I really think their relationship is based more on honesty and friendship more than anything else.

    Dorian definitely grew on me in this series, too! I had always liked him, but by the end I was absolutely in love.

    Manon was great! Originally I was really bored in her chapters and wondering why she had been included in the story, but she grew so much and by the end, I was enjoying her chapters almost as much as everyone else’s.

    I cannot wait for book four, either!

  7. EEEEP! I love this series so much it hurts!
    WHAT!! But… Chaol! Oh well, more Chaol for me πŸ˜€ *happy dances*
    Manon has definitely stepped up to be my favourite character in this series (other than Celaena), and surprisingly enough, I agree with you, and I really liked Dorian in this book more than the others. I wasn’t too much of a fan of Rowan at the start, but then he definitely grew on me).
    Great review!

    1. For some people I think it was too slow but Celaena needed to find herself so she can become what she is meant to be. I loved it and have to say it was my fav as well. Can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

