Review: The Realm Of Possibility.

realm of possibility

Release Date: 27 August 2014 (Australia)
Publisher: Text Publishing
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Meet a boy whose girlfriend is in love with Holden Caulfield; a girl who loves the boy who wears all black; two boys pondering their first anniversary; and a girl who writes love songs for a girl she can’t have.

These are just a few of the captivating characters readers will get to know in this intensely heartfelt new novel about those ever changing moments of love and heartbreak that go hand-in-hand with high school.

David Levithan plumbs the depths of teenage emotion to create an amazing array of voices. So, enter their intricately interconnected lives and prepare to welcome the realm of possibility open to us all.

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

The Realm Of Possibility was such a beautiful, well-written book of prose poems. In it we get a glimpse into the lives of twenty teens. It is an emotion driven book and had real heart. It is divided in five parts, and at the start of each part is a list of four names. The first name is the author of the first poem, the second name is the author of the second poem and so on. I found myself having to flip back a lot to see who the poem was written by. That was my only small niggle with it, that and the first poem, I thought it glorified smoking too much for my liking.

Levithan covers so much of the teenage experience in this small collection, and dips into a whole range of emotions. The characters are from all sorts of backgrounds and Leviathan doesn’t shy away from anything (including sex and drugs.). Even though each character’s time on the page is short because of the format, I found myself invested in them and was able to connect easily with them. No one character sounded the same to me.
And one of the things I loved about this book was how all the characters were linked. If you pay attention you will realise each poem is talking about another character from a previous poem. It was fun reading each poem to see how they related to the others.

An emotional read that will pull at your heart strings, The Realm Of Possibility is a snap shot into the lives of twenty teens. It could easily be mistaken as non-fiction, so real were all the voices. Leviathan has painted a vivid picture of the teenage experience. It will captivate you and is small enough to devour in one sitting, which you will want to do once you start reading.
If you love lyrical stories, and poetry as a format, and even if you don’t, I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Realm Of Possibility.

  1. Great review! I have to admit… I am a bit on the fence about reading this one! I am not, personally, a fan of books written like this. And also I’ve only read a few books written by this author before, and I’ve had mixed thoughts about them. But I suppose I don’t know if I’ll like it until I try it, right?

  2. I’ve only ever read one verse book before and it didn’t particularly work for me (I couldn’t connect emotionally with the format) but I am a fan of David Levithan and love his work so i’d be willing to give this one a try! Lovely review 🙂

    1. Thanks. If you love his work, I’m sure you’ll love this too. It took me a bit to get use to the format, but once I did I loved it. Hope you enjoy it if you try it.

  3. Great review, Rochelle!
    I’m pretty on-off when it comes to David Levithan’s work: sometimes I will love the book, next time I will really not like it, back to love. Though I do think the prospect of this is certainly interesting, and very well done as you say, I don’t think I would read it myself. I struggle with heaps of characters, and 20 seems like an awful lot to all have a part to say in one book, each poem devoted to a new character. It doesn’t sound like I would really enjoy it.
    I can, however, highly recommend Boy Meets Boy and Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares; they’re my favourite two and so good. Excellent timing for D&L, too! xx

Leave a Reply

