A Writerly Update 56.

Hi Everyone,

It’s been about a fortnight since my last update, sorry, but November has been a crazy hectic month and it’s a relief to be in December. Sorry to all the regular blogs that I usually visit and comment on, I’ve been neglectful of you lately but that’s because I was focusing on completing my 25k challenge. Now it’s over you’ll be seeing more of me again. I must admit November really is not the best month for me to participate in a writing challenge, but I did and am please to announce I completed it!

Yesterday I wrote 5,277 words in order to do so. And I’m so glad I was able to complete the challenge (a few days ago I was thinking it wasn’t going to happen.). I was actually writing 1k in about 45 minutes when it usually takes me an hour. I was listening to epic fantasy music on youtube and the words were just pouring out. I was working on my MG (which is a fantasy, hence the music) and I’m glad to say that I only have about 1k to go and then I’m done with the first draft. I am really excited about this story and can’t wait to edit it, but it needs to rest first so it will have to wait.

And while it is resting my December goal will be to finish the final draft of my YA fantasy. Then I’ll start submitting next year o.0

Blogging wise, now the challenge is over I’ll get back to posting my regular posts on time. I have plenty of reviews coming for you and I should have The Amberly Chronicles posted every Sunday. (I know it used to be on a Saturday but Sundays are going to work a lot better for me, which means reviews might change days too.) I posted the latest episode yesterday here if you want to check it out.

That’s it from me. How about you? How was your writing week? If you were participating in NaNo, did you reach your goal?

5 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 56.

  1. Of course I miss your comments, but I know that whatever you have to say is always so helpful 🙂 2 more weeks until the holidays. Argh! I have to put your advice into effect….I could write 2k a day and get to the halfway point in my book, but I can’t see that happening while researching agents. I have a question for you, and it might seem like I’m cheating 😛 But how do you research high fantasy? I mean, I wouldn’t even know where to start! Grats on achieving your goal 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂

      The first thing I would ask is have you read a lot of high fantasy? If not, I’d start by reading a fair few books in the genre so you become familiar with what readers of high fantasy expect when they open a fantasy novel.

      Second, a lot of high fantasy books are set in a medieval type world so you could research this time period, or what ever time period your world is set in.
      Research things like horse riding and archery and swords, clothing , food, buildings. castles and so on.

      That’s basically all the research I did.

      Here is an article you might like to read:
      http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2012/06/19/25-things-you-should-know-about-writing-fantasyzzz/

      Hope this helps.

      1. It’s something I’ve been wondering a lot about over the last year. High fantasy was my original love while growing up, and I guess that’s why it’s never cast far from my consciousness. I’ve only started reading more now. I guess if you want to write fantasy, you find the ways to do so, and I’m not ready yet. But there are days when I feel lost, and I think starting to research this path would make me feel useful when I need distance from urban fantasy. With all the language and history, this research would far outweigh most genres, maybe only challenged by historical for top spot?. I have an idea brewing, and maybe that’s why I’m showing interest lately 🙂 I love Chuck Wendig. I will be checking this out asap. Thanks, Rochelle 🙂 Useful advice as always!

  2. I honestly do not understand all these NaNo participants and basically anyone who just writes SO DAMN MUCH. I can barely squeeze out 1K a day, lol, because I would just fret over it and edit it a million times before even thinking of going on.

    Keep up the awesomeness! 😀

    1. With NaNo and other writing challenges you make the time to complete it, stopping a lot of your regular life. But if you can squeeze out 1k a day that’s actually a really good effort and a great habit to have. The trick, though, is to not fret over it and edit it a million times until after the first draft.

Leave a Reply

