My Goals For 2015.

Is it really 2015? For me, the first half of the year goes by at a normal pace, but as soon as it hits the half way mark, it speeds by! I can hardly believe another year has come and gone. And since it is a new year it’s time to set some goals. I love goals. I think they are so important. They help keep you focused and give you something to strive for. Sadly, I did not achieve all of my goals for 2014, but the good thing about goals is they can be adjusted πŸ™‚

Reading Goals:

I have so many books on my shelf that I haven’t read – so many in fact that it will take years, and me not buying another book in that time, for me to get through them all (I may have a book buying addiction, but I just can’t resist a bargain.) So my goal for this year is to read a huge chunk of the books I own. 100 in fact. 2 a week. I have read 100 books in a year before so I am sure I can do it again.

My other goal is to NOT buy as many books this year. (Gosh, I don’t think I’m really going to succeed in this goal at all) My plan is to make myself read 20 books before I can buy ONE book. I think I’ll blog a regular update on this to keep myself honest.

Blogging Goals:

Stress less about blogging. The last few months have been hectic and I have struggled to keep up with the blog. I did manage to keep up with it most of the time, but I had to sacrifice stuff like writing time to do so. It’s the review side that got me the most stressed because you have to read a book in order to review it and that can take a fair amount of time. I was trying to read all my review copies and review them, because we all like to make publishers happy, and when I was falling behind it would stress me out. I just want to go with the flow this year. This is a hobby, it is meant to be fun, and not meant to feel like work. I still want to blog regularly, but more like 4 days a week instead of 5. If all goes to plan than this is going to be a very busy year for me so I’ll have less time to blog anyway.

Writing Goals:

I am praying that 2015 will be my year writing wise. First thing I need to do is finish my manuscript. Second I want to get an agent. Third I want to get published.

I lost focus a bit in the last few months of 2014 and just wasn’t putting as much time into my writing as I usually do. The non-writing part of my life was busy, which didn’t help. So I want to get back into writing regularly. I want to finish this last draft by the end of January and start looking for agents in February. Hopefully I can, but it is going to be difficult with the kids and husband on holidays. But I am determined and refuse to be anything but persistent, and determination and persistence can go a long way.

That’s it from me. What goals do you have for 2015?

20 thoughts on “My Goals For 2015.

  1. I like the way you have split them out into different goals and included reading goals. I am going to keep it simple and focused in 2015 – my tagline (which I need to write all over my folders) will be #finishnovel. To finish what I have started!

    1. A great goal to have! I should have been searching for agents years ago but I had this terrible habit of doing about 3 drafts of a novel and then starting another and another and another until they were all almost finished instead of finished. Which is why I am determined to finish finish my manuscript and start looking for agents. Good luck with finishing your manuscript!

  2. Good luck with your goals! It’s usually really hard for me to stick to my New Year’s resolutions, but I hope you have better luck than I have in the past :).

  3. You’re so right about saying that once the year hits the half way mark, it speeds up like crazy. I feel as if I see the whole world clearly now. Haha! Great goals, especially hitting that TBR list.*wink* I know you can do it!

    1. Thank you! I’m really determined to get that TBR down! I hate having so many books on my shelf that I haven’t read, especially when at the time of buying the book I couldn’t wait to read it and then two years have passed and I haven’t picked it up!

  4. Happy New Year !! Good luck with all your resolutions! That IS a lot of unread books but I don’t blame you πŸ™‚ bargains can be evil. I think most of the books on myshelf were purchased in some sort of sale. May 2015 be a wonderful year!

  5. Good luck with your goals, Rochelle! πŸ™‚ They all sound so fantastic. I never added this to my goals, but like you, I don’t want to buy as many books as I usually do, due to my massive stack of library and bought / won books I’m still yet to read. I’m not sure how long that resolution will last — but hey, I’ll give it a go. πŸ˜›

  6. Happy New Year, Rochelle! I love all your resolutions. Haha, controlling myself when it comes to book hauls is one of my goals too! Wayyy too many books that need to be read πŸ˜›

    Good luck with all your goals ❀

  7. Good luck with your goals, your reading goal is definitely a lot like my one! The pressures of book hoarding I think, but then we have so many on our shelves that we haven’t read! I hope you do well with your writing goals as well, Rochelle.

    1. Running out of book shelves was one of the inspirations for wanting to read books I already own. I hate putting my books in boxes. Plus I have so many great books on my shelf, it’s time I read them.
      And thanks πŸ™‚

  8. My reading goals are quite similar to yours! I’ve challenged myself to 150 books this year, which I really hope I can do. But if I don’t, I’ll try not to feel too guilty. I also want to stop buying books. This will be VERY hard, but it’s necessary. I need to read the hundreds of books I own before I go and buy more and more beautiful books. We’ll see how well that goes, haha.

    I’m going to try and get on top of my really old Net Galley review books because I really let them fall behind this year, because I let other review books get in the way. So hopefully I’ll have a 100% ratio by the end of the year.

    I wish you luck with all your writing endeavours, Rochelle!

    1. Thanks, Chiara.
      I’m thinking of upping my challenge to 150 because I’m looking at my shelves and I just want to read everything! So many of us are trying to read the books on our shelves this year – we all seem to have the same book buying problem! At least we are all in this together!
      Good luck with your writing as well πŸ™‚

  9. Best of luck with your goals πŸ™‚ I have failed to take on your advice these holidays with regards to the kids and writing, but I have made peace with that and am not even feeling depressed or guilty :S I know that as soon as I write one new word, the ideas will be flowing and I’ll end up scowling at the kids for crazy reasons. I also plan to stress less about my blog. It is meant to be fun, but there is that pressure there, isn’t there? You are good to keep up with reviews. I don’t officially review, but I used to keep up with group reads on Goodreads, and I had to opt out. Reading should also be fun, and I found I was pressured even by this! Here’s to loads more writing in 2015, sandwiched between blissful blogging and research-filled reading πŸ™‚ *holds up glass* Cheers! Oh, we are drinking, right? πŸ˜›

    1. Thanks. Sometimes you just have times like that, when you don’t get to write, and I think the best thing to do is to just make peace with it, what else can you do really? I’m so much better at this now than I use to be and life is a lot easier when I don’t put unnecessary stress on myself.
      And yes, there is that pressure there from the blog, but stressing about your blog is no good for anyone. They are meant to be fun. Glad to hear you’ll be stressing less over yours too.
      Because publishers send me books to review, I feel like I have to keep up with my reviews.
      Hope 2015 is good to you. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

