Review: The Rapunzel Dilemma.

Repunzel

Release Date: August 27th 2014.
Publisher: Penguin Australia.
Source: Publisher via NetGalley.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lily’s had a charmed life so far, and now she’s off to London to pursue her dream of becoming a great actor. But life at the London Drama Academy is full of surprises – and for the first time, Lily finds that things don’t always go her way.

It’s not just the other students who are making life difficult. Lily’s got a secret she’s not sure how to handle, but she finds that a room in one of the Academy’s deserted towers makes a perfect refuge. Lily can’t stay locked in the tower forever, though. And when she meets the mysterious Ronan Carver, everything starts to change . . .

A fast-paced modern fairytale and companion novel to The Cinderella Moment, from talented YA author Jennifer Kloester.

My Thoughts:

3.5 stars.

We first met Lily in The Cinderella Moment, which I absolutely loved. I enjoyed Lily’s character in it and was eager to read her POV in this one.

Lily loves acting and has gotten a second chance at an audition at the London Drama Academy, something that never happens. Lily gets in to the contempt of the other students. She struggles to fit in and find friends for the first time in her life. She is a rich girl who has always been popular and gotten what she wanted and is therefore naive to what it’s like in the real world for other people. She gets a little winy about her circumstances and things not going her way and for a lot of the novel I found it hard to connect with her. But I liked that she took a good look at herself and saw her faults, and I thought she had some good character development by the end.

Ronan Carver was an interesting character, mysterious and talented and had me as captivated as Lily. The romance was sweet and I enjoyed the chemistry between Ronan and Lily.

I really like Jennifer Kloester’s writing style, and despite not connecting with Lily for a lot of it, The Rapunzel Dilemma was a well-written, contemporary fairytale retelling that was easy to fall into. I enjoyed the cameos from Angel. One of Lily’s redeeming characteristics was how much she cared for Angel and didn’t want to hurt or worry her. They have a great friendship and when it comes to Angel, Lily was a lot less self-centred.

The Rapunzel Dilemma was a fun, romantic contemporary, perfect for YA fans looking for a lighter read. If you’ve read The Cinderella Moment, you’ll want to get your hands on this one. I look forward to the next book by Kloester.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

13 thoughts on “Review: The Rapunzel Dilemma.

  1. Are you planning to contribute to the 2015 AWW challenge, Rochelle? You can set your own goal and read or read-and-review as much or as little as you like (so it doesn’t have to be a stress and this review would qualify).

  2. I read The Cinderella Dilemma a while back and I did find it quite enjoyable so I think I’ll be giving this one a go! I need some more cute fluff in my life 🙂

    Fabulous review, Rochelle! <33

  3. I’m really interested in fairytale retellings lately and I’m intrigued by these books. Perhaps I should pick up the Cinderella Dilemma and the Rapunzel Dilemma 🙂

  4. I didn’t even realise that this was a companion to The Cinderella Moment. I think I got that out from the library once, but never got to read it. I’ll definitely have to think about it then. Great review 🙂

    1. Thanks. I did like The Cinderella Moment more. Lily was much more annoying in this one, but I did like her character development and thought she redeemed herself by the end.

  5. I absolutely adore the idea of contemporary retellings. There aren’t enough of them around! I still haven’t read The Cinderella Moment, because I’m trying to be nice to my TBR pile (but who knows how long that’s going to last!) though hopefully I’ll get to it by the end of the year! Lovely review, as usual. 🙂

  6. I did think that Lily was more annoying and had to redeem herself, but at the same time, she was adjusting to a whole new life and being shunned by her father for her best friend. I would say she can have a bit of a whine, and I’m glad that Ronan told her that all he heard from her was ‘I, I, I’ or ‘me, mine, my’
    but I am glad that she did redeem herself and because of that emotional journey I actually found her a rather enjoyable character even if I didn’t connect with her personality per se, I did connect with her characteristics and morals. I loved her trust and acceptance of Ronan and I did see the Max thing coming…sort of. (It was a vague theory/feeling)

    1. She did have a lot to deal with and I was glad she redeemed herself too. I also loved her trust and acceptance of Ronan and really enjoyed them as a couple. While I think it’s not really until you get to the end that you see what a good character she actually was.

Leave a Reply

