A Writerly Update 57.

Hi Everyone,

This is my first writerly update of the year, and, I just realised, my first update since December 1st! December was my most unproductive writing month of 2014 so let’s not talk about that.

It’s a new year and a fresh start and I have started the year off well, writing wise. I have a goal not to miss a day of writing (except Sunday which is my day off from writing.) and so far so good.

I’m a mother and it’s school holidays here in Australia, and still will be until January 28th for my kids, which means it’s pretty much impossible for me to write during my normal writing time (school hours), plus my husband has been on holidays since December 19th and doesn’t go back until Monday, which meant he wanted to go out almost everyday. So I have been getting up at 6am and writing until 8am most days so I’d be free to spend time with my family.

January’s goal is to finish my YA fantasy because I want to start querying ASAP in February, but only if it is done. I have learnt from past mistakes and am not going to query until it really is ready, and not just start querying because I’m impatient.

I have just finished editing ch 5 (So I have about 35 chapters to go). I wanted to be much further along then this, in fact I had hoped to have it finished by the end of November, but then November proved to be hectic, and so did December and now it’s the new year and January is not a great month to try and edit quickly in. (Just goes to show how much life loves to stand in the way of writing!)

The main thing is that I am not letting myself get stressed about it. I’ve done this in the past and it doesn’t help. If I don’t finish in January I know I’ll have a lot more time in February when the kids are back at school and I can finally get back into my regular routine.

That’s it from me. I’m hoping by next week I’ll be able to report that I’ve edited at least 10 more chapters. We’ll see how I go.

How about you? How was your writing week?

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 57.

  1. What’s that saying? Life is what happens while you’re making other plans. Stick with it and all the best of luck with the editing and querying. Can’t wait to see your novel and name in print!

    1. Thanks, Faith. I’ll try to not let the kids get to me, but it’s hard. When you’re at school, the holidays go quickly, when you’re the parent, they go on forever!

  2. I can imagine how difficult writing would be, especially in the school holiday times! I hope you get back to that soon. I agree about the stress; it doesn’t do ant good at all. And besides, what’s the point of getting stressed over something you enjoy?

    1. It is very difficult, especially because I get out of routine and I love routine. I stress easily, and it took me a long time to realise that stressing over writing was pointless, at least I’m better at not stressing now.

Leave a Reply

