Review: Better Than Perfect.

Betterthanperfect

Release Date: December 1st 2014.
Publisher: Bloomsbury (Australia)
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ashtyn’s life just got complicated. Her boyfriend is being distant and her sister’s back at home after ten years – with a stepson in tow!

Derek has a perfect body, THE sexiest smile and a car – Ashtyn’s only way to escape from her crazy life. But Derek likes to play by his own rules and is keen to take Ashtyn on a ride she’ll never forget. As they spend more and more time alone together, will Derek’s flirty games drive Ashtyn wild?

A sweet and steamy romance from New York Times bestselling author Simone Elkeles.

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

I loved this book. Going into it, I knew I was going to like it, but as I read I moved quickly from like to love. It was exactly how I like my contemporary reads – funny, light hearted and full of romance. It was easy to fall into and the undeniable spark between Ashtyn and Derek kept me hooked. It is told from both Derek and Ashtyn’s POV, alternating chapters, so you get to see inside both their heads, which I loved because you get the whole picture of the story.

Football is Ashtyn’s life, and when she is voted Captain of the team, instead of her life getting better, it starts spiralling out of control. Her boyfriend is distant, and her sister is back in town with a stepson in tow – a gorgeous, seventeen year old stepson.

Ashtyn and Derek get off on the wrong foot, but an attraction quickly builds between them – even if they won’t admit it. I loved the chemistry between these two, you could say they had perfect chemistry(See what I did there!). They constantly antagonise each other which was a delight to read. Although Derek loved to tease Ashtyn and annoy her, he had a good heart. He had his fair share of problems and I loved the surprise twist in his past. Ashtyn and Derek really make this book. They lept off the page and sunk into my heart. They have become one of my fav YA couples.

This was a great start to the series and I can’t wait to read what Simone has in store for us in book 2. If you are looking for a light-hearted and funny romance, with great characters and plenty of steam and snark, Better Than Perfect is for you. It will leave you filled with all the good feels. I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

10 thoughts on “Review: Better Than Perfect.

  1. Yes, I really liked these two’s chemistry! While I wasn’t a huge fan of how cliche this book was at times, it was still thoroughly enjoyable.

    Lovely review, Rochelle! <33

  2. Waaaaait, did they change the name of the book? I swear it was called Wild Cards right? Because I remember reading a book exactly like this! (So I just checked and yes they changed the name haha). So glad you loved it Rochelle, I unfortunately was not a huge fan and disliked how cliche the whole book was. Black sheep once again baaaaa! But I’m glad you loved the characters and the storyline regardless! Just goes to show how subjective reading is hey 😀

    1. I think the name change will confuse a lot of people, and I meant to mention that it used to be called Wild Cards, I think I’ll edit that in.
      When it comes to light-hearted romance, the cliches don’t bother me, not like with other genres. Sorry you didn’t like it that much.

  3. Ooh. Just read Joy’s comment about this one — I’ve been meaning to read Wild Cards ever since I heard about it, but hadn’t actually seen it around. I guess they just released it under a different name here in Australia? I dunno, but I’ve seen them doing things like that with other books, though I’m not sure what the purpose of that one is. Fantastic review! I love steam and snark, so I’ll be reading this one. ^_^

    1. I know publishers will change covers if a book is selling enough, maybe they change titles for that reason too? Or maybe the Australian publisher thought it would do better here with a different name? All I know is it gets very confusing, especially for us bloggers who hear about books coming out overseas before they come out here.
      And thanks, I hope you enjoy it if you get around to it.

Leave a Reply

