15 Must Read Australian Authors.

Happy Australia Day to my fellow Aussies! In celebration I thought I’d share with you 15 YA Aussie authors that I highly recommend. There are many more than just 15 great authors in this country, but to keep this post from going on forever, I thought, since it’s 2015, I’d stick to 15 authors I love (it wasn’t easy). We have SUCH great authors in this country and I just love reading their books and supporting them, and hope you will, whether you are Australian or not, pick up a book by one of the following authors and give them a go.

If you are interested in winning a book by an Australian author, there is an Australia Day blog hop happening right now, which includes international! Check it out HERE.

So in no particular order (that would be way too hard) here are my 15 must read YA Australian authors.
*All links to Goodreads.

1. Finnikin

Melina Marchetta.

I would recommend ALL or her books: Looking For Alibrandi, Saving Francesca, The Piper’s Son, On The Jellicoe Road, and The Lumatere Chronicles (One of my all time favourite fantasy series ever!)

2. bookofdayscover

K.A.Barker, who debuted last year with The Book of Days.

3.Hidden

Marianne Curley whose most recent series includess Hidden, Broken and the up coming Fearless.

4.Almost Dead.

Kaz Delaney, whose books include the funny paranormal romance Dead, Actually.

5. shadows

Paula Weston. She has written one of the best angel books ever with her Rephaim series, which include Shadows, Haze, Shimmer and the up coming Burn.

6. howtokeepaboyfromkissingyou

Tara Eglington. The Queen of funny, romantic contemporary. How To Keep a Boy from Kissing You is her first book, and once you read it you’ll want to grab How To Convince a Boy to Kiss You ASAP.

7. AshalaWolf

Ambelin Kwaymullina. Oh My Gosh The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf is one of the best dystopian’s ever!

8. Between the lives

Jessica Shirvington. Between the Lives is one of my favourite books. It is pure awesomeness. Her Embrace (Violet Eden Chapters) series is really good as well.

9.sweet damage

Rebecca James puts the thrill in thrillers! I’m not even a thriller fan but I love her work. She started with Beautiful Malice, followed up with Sweet Damage and has now brought us Cooper Bartholomew is Dead.

10.These Broken Stars

Amie Kaufmen. These Broken Stars was one of the best sci-fi’s ever!

11. A corner of white

Jaclyn Moriarty. I loved A Corner of White so much! A portal between worlds is one of my fav things to read about.

12. This is shyness

Leanne Hall. If you are looking for something diffent but captivating that is well-written, This Is Shyness is for you!

13. Australian Cover.

Marianne de Pierres. Burn Bright is a dystopian unlike any other, I highly recommend the Night Creatures series.

14.Fairy Bad Day

Amanda Ashby. Funny paranormal, yes please!

15. girlsavesboy

Steph Bowe A teen writer with a big career ahead of her.

Have you read any of the authors on my list? Do you plan on reading any authors on the list? Tell me in the comments, I’d love to know πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “15 Must Read Australian Authors.

  1. Great list Rochelle – it’s fantastic to give those amazing Aussie authors the recognition they deserve! I’ve heard of most of these, but not all, and I’m especially looking forward to giving ‘Girl Saves Boy’ and ‘Shadows’ a try. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so disappointed that Garth Nix isn’t on the list! He’s my all-time favorite author, and perhaps the best-known Australian author overseas.

    Some of these other books look great though, I’ll have to give them a read one day!

    Happy Australia Day!

    1. There were so many great authors who missed the list, it’s tough just picking 15. I must confess I’m a bit behind on my Garth Nix books, and have only read one of them. I plan to rectify this soon though.

      1. I know it can be hard to pick favorites!

        Garth Nix has such an incredible variety of books. You could start with Old Kingdom (Sabriel/Lirael/Abhorsen), or Keys to the Kingdom, or even Seventh Tower. Those are all epic fantasy series. If you want some sci-fi, Confusion of Princes was also really excellent too!

  3. Hi Rochelle, great list :). I LOVED Melina Marchetta’s Looking for Alibrandi. It was THE book of my teenage years. I love Marianne Curley’s latest series too, though I could be a little biased πŸ˜‰

  4. I’ve read This is Shyness and all I can say is that the book was weird. Really weird. The setting, characters and plot was captivating but weird. I loved Between the Lines. I have so many emotions tangled up with that book!

    1. It was weird, but I loved the weird. It was so nice and refreshing to read something different at the time I read it.

      Between the Lines was so good, I have so many emotions tangled up with the book too. They should make a movie out of it!

      1. I know it can be hard to pick favorites!

        Garth Nix has such an incredible variety of books. You could start with Old Kingdom (Sabriel/Lirael/Abhorsen), or Keys to the Kingdom, or even Seventh Tower. Those are all epic fantasy series. If you want some sci-fi, Confusion of Princes was also really excellent too!

  5. Wow, great list Rochelle! The only two I’ve read books from are Jessica Shirvington and Amie Kaufman. Shameful, I know. Though I do own a Melina Marchetta. So that counts for something, right? My favourite Aussie author is probably Kylie Fornasier though. Happy ‘Straya Day for yesterday!

  6. What an awesome way to celebrate Australia Day πŸ™‚ I also enjoyed Paula Weston’s ‘Shadows’. To date, it’s the closest I’ve found to true Aussie uf. I did read book one of Jessica Shirvington’s ‘Violet Eden’ series, but I will have to check out the one you mentioned. ‘Burn Bright’ has a great cover and I’m always drawn to it. Time to get it on that reading list. 2015 is all about getting back to my roots and reading more home-grown reads, so this is a great post for me πŸ™‚

  7. Marchetta! I’ve only read her contemporaries, but need to grab a copy of her fantasy series as well, there’s nothing that woman can’t do. I think she has a new release coming out this year too. Where she brought Aussie YA to the world, we’re so lucky to have authors like Amie Kaufman, Paula Weston, Michael Adams, even Garth Nix and Sean Williams to carry on the torch. Aussie YA is brilliant at the moment and just keeps getting better and better. Awesome post Rochelle and thanks for sharing ❀

    1. I really hope she has a new book coming out this year because I am dying to read another book of hers! I love Aussie YA, I’ve read a lot but have a lot more to read and am really looking forward to it.

  8. Aww this is such a great way to celebrate Australia Day! I totally agree with Amie Kaufman, Marchetta (of course), REBECCA JAMES which is one of my favourites as well. Also Will Kostakis, Claire Zorn and Kylie Fornasier as well. I do love Australian fiction!

    1. Thanks. There are so many more Australian authors I have to read, a lot of those are waiting on my shelf I just have to get to them. Hope you do get a chance to read these authors πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

