A Writerly Update 59.

I just realised it’s been almost a month since my last writerly update! This one is going to be short and sweet because I don’t have that much to say. I’ve been busy trying to finish the last edit of my YA fantasy. I have managed to cut it down from 108,000 words to currently 93,000 words. I’m almost finished it. Then I’ll read over it one more time to check the punctuation, spelling, grammar etc and then I’ll start querying.
I’m looking to have it finished and as polished as possible by the end of this month.

I did enter one version of my query letter into a pitching competition – sun vs snow – but had no luck, which was good because my YA fantasy isn’t as polished as I would like and I would have had about a week to try and polish it. I wouldn’t have entered except I got excited when I saw my top agent was participating and couldn’t resist (though I don’t recommend entering unless your work is completed and polished).
Pitching comps are a lot of fun and you get to meet a lot of other writers. For those of you who are ready, there is one coming up on February 20th and it has some great agents participating, it’s called pitch madness. If I get this last edit done by the 20th I may enter. Good luck to you if you decide to enter.

That’s it from me, I’ll be back to report next week.

Happy writing.

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 59.

  1. Wow! You’ve managed to cut that MS down a lot! My current high fantasy WIP finished at 90k — and now that I’m currently revising it, I’m finding that it might be longer than the first draft. Sigh. xD Good luck with querying, also. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks. Mine got bigger with edits too, but my critique partner thought it would be a good idea to get it below 100k since it’s YA and my first novel, I agreed. Good luck with revisions.

  2. Entering these competitions in the first place is a brave move. So regardless of result, I’m proud of you! The last one I entered was a bust…and I would pick myself up and get into pitch madness, but some editing feedback on my query has me scared for my MS. The best thing about these contests it that they show you were your hook needs work. And only when that and your blurb is engaging, will your query be ready. And you are right – you do meet some pretty amazing people πŸ™‚ GL with pitmad! I’ll be retweeting your tweets if you do the twitter component πŸ™‚

    1. It is so nerve wracking being in these competitions! But if I don’t go anywhere with this one I’m just going to query the traditional way. I feel too much pressure in these competitions. And thanks.

Leave a Reply

