Review: The House of Puzzles By Richard Newsome.

The House of puzzles

Release Date: August 27th 2014.
Publisher: Text Publishing (Australia)
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A mysterious coded message. A search for a fabled perpetual motion machine. A terrifying horse ride. And a night in the exclusive Billionaires’ Club House of Puzzles.

If Gerald thought his term in a Scottish Highlands school camp was going to be all snow-covered heather and tartan rugs he couldn’t have been more wrong. With Professor McElderry in the clutches of Gerald’s nemesis, Sir Mason Green, and a seemingly impossible task required to save his life, Gerald, Ruby, Sam and Felicity face their greatest challenge yet.

My Thoughts:

3.5 stars.

From the Scottish Highlands to a puzzle house in New York, Gerald and his friends embark yet again on another action packed, continent crossing adventure. There’s a challenge to win, a code to crack and a night in a puzzle house where no one has made it past the second floor, all in order to save their friend Professor McElderry.

Old enemies return, and new ones emerge. And although Gerald is trying hard to save the professor, he is also distracted by Ruby. He wants to ask her to be his girlfriend. I was becoming as frustrated as Gerald at the missed opportunities. I have to say I liked Ruby a little less in this one. I felt she was so much more critical of everyone. I usually enjoyed the twins witty banter, but in this book it was more just Ruby slinging shots.

I wasn’t as satisfied with the ending as the other books. I thought this was the last book, but there are a few questions unanswered so I’m wondering if there is going to be another one?
Overall, this was an enjoyable read. There is still plenty of action and mystery solving, and the same formula as in the previous books that I love. It was a bit more serious this time with not only Gerald’s friend’s life on the line, but Gerald’s heart too. I certainly will welcome more books in this series if this isn’t the last one. Gerald, Ruby, Sam and Felicity feel like old friends, and I wouldn’t mind seeing Alisha again (she didn’t make an appearance in this one). This is a great series that has taken me on what feels like a world tour! If you love mysteries, this is one series you don’t want to miss.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

2 thoughts on “Review: The House of Puzzles By Richard Newsome.

  1. I hadn’t take much interest in this series before now, but your review had me looking at the first in the series on Goodreads and it sounds incredibly fun and lighthearted. I love middle grade series’ and this reminds me a little a cross between Percy Jackson and the Aussie Jack Mason series. Lovely review Rochelle, going to grab a copy of book one and dive in ❤

    1. It is fun and lighthearted. I didn’t think I’d like a story about a boy billionaire that much but it turned out to be pretty good. I enjoyed the series. I hope you do too.

Leave a Reply

