Blog Tour: Review: Rose River by Margareta Osborn #aww2015

Hi and welcome to my stop on the Rose River blog tour. Today I have the pleasure of reviewing Rose River. It is also the 5th book I have read for the Australian Women Writers challenge.

Rose River

Release Date:March 2nd 2015.
Publisher: Random House Australia (Bantam)
Source: From publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review for the blog tour.

Synopsis from Random House (click the link to read a free sample!)

Adapted from Margareta Osborn’s bestselling ebook novella A Bush Christmas, Rose River is a gloriously funny romantic comedy set in the beautiful Australian outback.

Take one city girl – and drop her into the back of beyond …

Housesitting in rural Burdekin’s Gap, high up in the East Gippsland mountains, is not an obvious career move for a PR executive like Jaime Hanrahan. But, hey, retrenchment is a kicker.

Plus she’s determined not to spend Christmas in Melbourne with her friends, who still have company cars and six-figure salaries, or with her mother, Blanche, who has remarried too soon after her father’s death.

However, it turns out that Burdekin’s Gap is a little more remote than Jaime had anticipated, the house is in the middle of a cattle station, and the handsome manager, Stirling McEvoy, doesn’t appreciate a new farmhand in Jimmy Choos and Sass & Bide cut-offs.

Soon Jaime is fending off stampeding cows, town ladies wielding clipboards, sheep who think they are goats, nude sportsmen and one very neurotic cat. So why does she feel like she’s falling in love . . . with the life, with the breathtaking landscape, and with one infuriating cowboy …?

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

I loved this book. I was drawn in and held captivated from the very start, and didn’t want to put it down until the end. This is a standout rural romantic comedy that left me bubbling with happiness.This is the first Margareta Osborn book I have read but it’s not going to be my last. I need to read more of her books and I need them now!

Rose River tells the story of Jaime, a city girl who has recently been retrenched and has agreed to house sit for a bit of cash. Plus she’s determined to avoid her family for Christmas, and Christmas altogether. It brings painful memories of her father who died on boxing day only a year earlier.

From the moment she steps off the bus, nothing goes right for Jaime. She is forced to get a lift up the mountain with a surly cowboy riding a motorcycle – who turns out to be her new boss.
The heat between these two was intense, the sexual tension just oozed off the pages. Stirling is a brick wall determined not to let anyone in – especially a clueless city girl. But chemistry this good can’t be denied.
I have to say Stirling is one of the hunkiest (I’m cringing at the word but it truly is the best way I can think to describe him.) guy I’ve read in adult fiction in a while (I read a lot more YA). A brooding cowboy with a manners, real heart and can cook? YES PLEASE. I couldn’t get enough of him – and neither could Jaime.
I admit it, I was swooning.

And boy was this book funny. It will have you laughing out loud. It had three of my favourite things in a contemporary: romance, rural setting, humor. And all things were done so well. Osborn is a fantastic author. Her characters just leapt off the page. I cannot recommend Rose River enough. It was a sizzling, satisfying read perfect for fans of rural romantic comedies.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

osborn, margareta

Margareta Osborn is a fifth-generation farmer who has lived and worked on the land all her life. She also writes about it in the Gippsland Country Life magazine. Home is the beautiful Macalister Valley of East Gippsland where, with her husband and three children, she spends many hours in the mountains in which her novels are set.

She is the author of four bestselling novels, Bella’s Run, Hope’s Road, Mountain Ash and Rose River (coming April 2015) and the no.1 bestselling ebook A Bush Christmas.

Follow her on Twitter, find her on Facebook, or check out her website

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Review: Rose River by Margareta Osborn #aww2015

  1. I haven’t read a single rural romance before but everyone in the A&U office used to rave about them because they sell so many copies each year. I do admit though that when you read so many YA and switch to an adult book, there is a vast difference in the romantic interests. As I get older, I feel like I’m unable to connect all that often with the YA characters, and I definitely look forward to reading an adult book once in a while for a mature take on relationships. Lovely review Rochelle, so glad you loved it!

    1. I do love my YA, but yes, it is nice to read an adult book once in a while. With adult books I prefer fantasy or romantic contemporaries – especially if they are set in the country. This would be a great one to start off with if you wanted to give a rural romance a try.

Leave a Reply

