Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

The Sin eater's daughter

Publisher: Scholastic.
Release Date: March 1st 2015.
Source: Bought from Booktopia for only $11.80 & free shipping, so happy 🙂

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

I needed to get this book as soon as it came out. NEEDED it desperately. With a title like that, of course I did. How intriguing is it? The blurb was a clincher. Kills with a touch. YES PLEASE.
I devoured this book. It was unputdownable. I started it late yesterday afternoon and didn’t stop reading it until I was forced by my stupid eyes that wouldn’t stay open. As soon as I woke up I dove straight back into it, finishing the last 60 pages.

This book was nothing like I expected and I’m not sure if this is good or bad. I’m not sure if I absolutely love this book, or if I hate it. But it is certainly a must read. So many unexpected twists and turns happen in this book it’s not funny. They are brilliant, but one of the big twists really annoyed me and I wished it wasn’t so. I had no idea what was coming around each corner and as an avid reader and writer myself, it’s rare that a book will have me completely clueless as to what is coming next. This book did.

If you are looking for an evil queen, the queen is truly evil. Seriously. I need to purge her from my thoughts. I get a shiver just thinking about what she wanted to do.

This book is all about the romance. Twylla is betrothed to the prince, the only man who can touch her (The king and queen are also immune.). But then there is the new handsome guard that she falls in love with. I actually really liked Prince Merek, and even though I did like her and Lief, the guard, I was going for Merek.

This book is doing my head in. Leave all your expectations at the door because whatever you think is going to happen in this story you are wrong. The writing itself was superb and I really enjoyed Salisbury’s writing style. Also, I think this must be a stand alone? Which is pretty awesome because as much as I love trilogies, it’s nice to read a book every now again and get one story out of it, so I hope it is. None the less I will be eagerly awaiting to see what Salisbury produces next.

Th Sin Eater’s Daughter truly is a must read. I am torn over my feelings for it but think I must have loved it, despite being disappointed with where the story went. It certainly had a very different and amazing ending.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

EDIT: This is going to be a series. I don’t know much about the second book yet, since the first one just came out, but it’s in the POV of a different character. I definitely will be reading book 2.

12 thoughts on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

  1. I’m so glad you reviewed this, Rochelle. I’ve been eyeing off that gorgeous cover on Goodreads but I wasn’t sure whether it would be any good. I think I’m definitely going to have to pick this up now.

  2. I’m glad you really enjoyed this one!! I…wasn’t so happy. In fact I was quite furious until OMG HOLD EVERYTHING, THAT ENDING EXPLODED ME. I was sooo impressed. And that evil queen? UGH. Worst. queen. ever. She probably popped out of Game of Thrones to be honest. *shudders* I was a little sad there wasn’t much actual sin eating though. I feel like the title is a tad misleading?

    1. I figured she would be a daughter of a demon or something, so I was surprised when I found out what a sin eater was. I was furious with the twist involving the touch. And yeah, worst queen I have read.

  3. I was so excited to read this one too Rochelle, made it to around a third the way through and there was nothing happening apart from smiling and flashbacks. It felt like it was a cross between the premise of Shatter Me and the typical captive girl held by the evil queen. I just couldn’t get into it sadly. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it though, it would be magnificent in the right hands. Absolutely fabulous review Rochelle ❤

    1. Thank you.

      Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it. This one is getting mixed reviews because I think people were expecting it to be as awesome as something like Red Queen was, when it turned out to just be a romance. The next book is going to be from a different POV – which I am hoping will be Prince Merek and the action picks up a little.

Leave a Reply

