Review: Akarnae by Lynette Noni. #aww2015

#This is the 7th book I have read for the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge.
Akarnae

Release Date: February 1st 2015.
Publisher: Pantera Press.
Source: Via Simon & Schuster Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

With just one step, sixteen-year-old Alexandra Jennings’s world changes–literally.

Dreading her first day at a new school, Alex is stunned when she walks through a doorway and finds herself stranded in Medora, a fantasy world full of impossibilities. Desperate to return home, she learns that only a man named Professor Marselle can help her… but he’s missing.

While waiting for him to reappear, Alex attends Akarnae Academy, Medora’s boarding school for teenagers with extraordinary gifts. She soon starts to enjoy her bizarre new world and the friends who embrace her as one of their own, but strange things are happening at Akarnae, and Alex can’t ignore her fear that something unexpected… something sinister… is looming.

An unwilling pawn in a deadly game, Alex’s shoulders bear the crushing weight of an entire race’s survival. Only she can save the Medorans, but what if doing so prevents her from ever returning home?

Will Alex risk her entire world–and maybe even her life–to save Medora?

My Thoughts:

3 stars.

I love stories where character’s go into another world, so when I heard about this one I was intrigued. It wasn’t exactly like I was expecting but enjoyable none the less.

Alex finds herself in a world like our own, only with more advanced technology(There were some great inventions I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on.) She has landed outside an academy for gifted students where she meets Jordan and Bear, who quickly become her friends. I did enjoy this friendship and thought they made a good trio. She ends up staying at the academy why she tries to find a way home. It turns out she is gifted too, she just doesn’t know what that gift is yet.

There are some fun and not so fun classes Alex must attend. One of my favourites was Species Distinction. In this class we were introduced to lots of strange and interesting creatures. The only thing though is that I would have liked to see some of them in a natural setting rather than in a classroom.

Then Alex discovers the Library. I loved the Library in this book, it was one of the best things about it. It was the most awesome library I have read. I want to say more but will retain to avoid spoilers.

Although I liked it, it was a bit up and down for me and I felt it was a little long. And there were a few things that annoyed me.
I didn’t like how the boys kept stressing that there wasn’t magic in their world, that it was science, but some aspects felt pretty magical to me. And there simply wasn’t enough female characters in this for me. I would have loved Alex to form a good, solid friendship with a girl. Although she does do this in the end, thankfully, I would have loved it much sooner.

I prefer romance in my books and this didn’t have any in it, although I think it really worked well for this book. But there was hints that there could be one, and since there are four books to go in this series, I’m really hoping it will develop. I especially like the character that it was hinted at Alex could like so I’m crossing my fingers. I will be extremely disappointed though if the author turns it into a love triangle. Although I don’t mind a good love triangle, I don’t think I’d like it in this situation. I liked Justin and Bear as her friends and want them to stay that way and Alex to go for this other guy and only him.

Noni has a good imagination and I like the world she has created. We get a limited view of it in this first book and hope that is expanded in book two. There was something very compelling about it and I’m interested to see what is going to happen to the characters in book 2.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

7 thoughts on “Review: Akarnae by Lynette Noni. #aww2015

Leave a Reply

