Review: SoulPrint by Megan Miranda

soul print

Release Date: February 1st 2015.
Publisher: Bloomsbury.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Alina Chase has spent her entire life in confinement. With the science of soul-printing now a reality, she is ‘protected’ for her own safety – and the safety of others – because her soul has done terrible things …or so she’s told. When Alina finally breaks out of prison, helped by a group of people with unclear motives, she begins to uncover clues left by her past life that only she can decipher. And she may not be as innocent as she once believed. Can Alina change her future, or is she fated to repeat her past and face the consequences?

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

I loved this book. It sucked me in right from the start and I devoured it in two sittings. I was intrigued by this one since I first heard about it and it didn’t disappoint, in fact it exceeded my expectations.

Alina has grown up in confinement, looked after by the state in a home of her own on a secluded island. She has the soul of a former famous criminal that died seventeen years before and people are afraid she will follow in the footsteps of her former life. She has TV and internet and has been educated so she isn’t ignorant of the world, just kept from it.
Then she receives messages offering her escape, and she she takes it. Her escape was heart stopping and daring, and I was holding my breath along with Alina.
Alina is free of her island, but she is still not free. Dom, the leader of the small group that got her out is someone from Alina’s past, someone Alina doesn’t trust. Dom wants to keep her and use her for his own gains. She has been trying to escape her soul her whole life, but to be truly free she must face her past life. When she does, she learns not everything was as she thought it was. Alina seeks to find the truth and be free once and for all.

Cameron and Casey were the other two in the small group that helped Alina escape. While Alina doesn’t trust Dom, she grows closer with these two. Cameron and Casey have a special bond and have a wonderful and dynamic relationship that I loved. But it was the love story between Cameron and Alina that had me swooning. Cameron sees Alina for who she is, sees her for her and not her soul. They both have been burned in the past, but they slowly start to trust each other. These two are one of my new favourite fictional couples!

SoulPrint was and edge-of-your-seat thriller with lots of twists and heart-pumping moments. It was romantic, enthralling and thought-provoking. I highly recommend it. Megan Miranda is a fantastic writer and I can’t wait to get my hands on more of her books.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

6 thoughts on “Review: SoulPrint by Megan Miranda

  1. Isn’t this book so good!!! Its really surprising, isn’t it?! I didn’t expect me to like it as much as I did. I think its a stand alone but I kind of want it to be a trilogy but I know what it would do with my impatience and its already wearing thing, waiting for SJ Maas’ Queen of Shadows.

    1. I thought I would like it but was surprised when I ended up loving it. And I half want to be a trilogy too, and know exactly what you mean.
      Queen of Shadows!!!! I am dying for it!!!

  2. I actually really loved this one too Rochelle, great minds and all that jazz. I loved the thrill of the chase and the romance was really lovely and used to soften the action packed storyline, just brilliant. I’ve actually read one of her other titles before, Hysteria and it was a pretty good read as well, really surprising. I’d love to see what you think of that one too Rochelle, I think you’d really enjoy it. Absolutely lovely review ❤

    1. Thanks. As soon as I finished this I wanted to get my hands on all the Megan Miranda books, so I jumped on line and found Hysteria was on sale at Book Depository for $7.30 so I bought and hope to read it soon. I have a fair few review copies to get through first, but I’ll let you know what I think of it when I finally get to it.

Leave a Reply

