Review: Girl At Midnight By Melissa Grey (Plus My Attempt At Nail Art.)

The Girl At Midnight

Release Date: April 28th 2015.
Publisher: Hachette Australia (Atom.)
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

For readers of Laini Taylor’s The Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina, THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT will take you to a fantastical world that lies just beneath your feet.
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

My Thoughts:
5 stars.

I LOVED THIS BOOK.

I cannot express enough how good this book was. I was drawn in from the awesome prologue and held captivated until the end. This book is way too short, I need more and I need it now! Grey has created an enchanting and captivating fantasy world that exists under our feet. And who doesn’t love hidden cities in our world? I certainly love them.

Echo is a human girl living in the hidden world of the Avicen – people with magic and feathers. She is a thief, but fiercely loyal to the ones she loves.
After finding a note in a music box, Echo is thrust into a mission to find the Firebird, something she thought only existed in legend. It is the one thing that can stop the war between the Avicen and Drakharin.
But Echo is not the only one after the legend.
Caius is a prince of the Drakharin – a dragon people with a scattering of scales and magic of their own. He has been searching for the firebird for a long time, and will do whatever it takes to find it.
Both their fates are about to become irrevocably tied.

I loved Echo and Caius and the supporting cast. They all jumped off the page with vivid personalities. The friends are loyal, the enemies are wicked and the romance was sweet. It was part action, part mystery and all brilliant. On the back of my ARC it says ‘Liked Daughter Of Smoke And Bone? You’ll love The Girl At Midnight’ and I totally agree.

The Girl At Midnight is a must read fantasy. I cannot recommend it enough. It will have you on the edge of your seat and dying for more when it ends. If you love fantasy, do yourself a favour and get a copy ASAP.

Add it to your Goodreads HERE.

And Now For My Nail Art:

Hachette/Date-A-Book are holding a Girl At Midnight Nail Art Comp for reviewers, judged by the talented The Bookish Manicurist. I didn’t do a great job, but it was really fun.

midnight nails 5

midnight nails 6

midnight nails 6 (540x960)

Here’s a close up of the feather:
midnight nails 3

I don’t wear nail polish frequently, and if I do, I stick to one colour, so this was a challenge for me. All I can say is, that when it comes to nail art, I should stick to writing lol!

6 thoughts on “Review: Girl At Midnight By Melissa Grey (Plus My Attempt At Nail Art.)

  1. Wow — Rochelle, that nail art is gorgeous! My nail art extends to painting them with clear polish so I don’t bite them so much. >.> Every time I attempt colour I end up taking it off, because I eventually screw it up. xD (Usually I am impatient and don’t leave it to dry long enough.) Also, I cannot WAIT to read this novel. It keeps getting comparison to Daughter of Smoke and Bone — which I simply loved — so I think I will be a fan of this one. Great review!

    1. Thanks, I was following an instruction sheet, I wouldn’t even thought to come up with something so nice without it. I stick to one colour if I paint my nails, which I don’t do often.
      It was so good, and hope you enjoy it. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a bit more epic but I’m sure if you loved it you will love this one.

  2. This is the first review I have read for this book, and I must say you have made me so excited, Rochelle! It sounds so magical and fantastical, and I seriously cannot wait to read it. I love fantasy almost best of all (and I say almost because it’s so hard to pick my favourite genre!), and this sounds like a great YA addition 😀

    And your nail art is lovely!

  3. I’m all for tight-knit friendships filled with loyalty! We don’t really have too much of those anymore. And yes for sweet romances! Really, that description alone’s making me want to read this even more. 😉 And that nail art is a lot better than what I can pull off. Great job, and fabulous review! ❤

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    1. I like seeing great friendships in books, and agree we don’t have enough. Thank you. The nail art was so hard! I hope you get to read it soon and that you love it!

Leave a Reply

