A Writerly Updaye 63 + My Book Haul

Hey Everyone,

Well it’s almost the end of the school holidays for my little ones *happy dancing* It’s nice having them home for a little while, but I am dying to get back into my regular routine, and especially my regular writing routine. I’ve just came up with a great new schedule that means, if I stick to it, I’ll be able to write 3-4 hours 6 days a week. This makes me very happy.

I haven’t gotten anywhere near as much writing done these holidays as I would have liked, and I fell a bit behind on the blog too. It used to really stress me out when I fell behind with the blog, but I didn’t let it worry me as much this time. It is supposed to be a hobby, hobbies are supposed to be fun, stressing is not fun. I just have to come to terms with the fact that in times like school holidays I’m just not going to get be able to do things like blog and write as much.

The main thing I did, writing wise, was try to pick the next project to work on while I’m querying. I read through a few works I had been working on prior to my ya fantasy. I’ve decided to concentrate on my ya sci-fi – which I call Rift. I’m on the look out for a critique partner to help me with it.

I haven’t had a lot of luck on the query front yet, but it is early days.

That’s it from me on the writing front. What about you? How is your writing going?

Now For My Book Haul:

I am so excited to share my book haul with you. It’s been a while. I won a ‘box’ of mystery books from Romi from Where The Writer Comes To Write. I was so excited when I opened the package and all the books were wrapped up! It was like Christmas, and it was so exciting that I might have to do my own surprise giveaway soon.
There was an amazing 10 books in the package which was so generous of Romi. I only owned one of them, so that was good. I also got a few extra goodies thrown in.

Here are the books I got:

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

For The Forest of a Bird.
Battle for Wondla.
Love, Aubrey.
The Retribution of Mara Dyer.

SAMSUNG

Mr Kiss and Tell.
Flywheel.
Avery.
This Star Won’t Go Out.

SAMSUNG

Heap House.
Circus of the Unseen.

And here are the review copies I received:

SAMSUNG

Season of Shadow and Light.
The Catalyst.
The Remedy.

And I bought this one myself:

SAMSUNG

Esther: Royal Beauty, A Dangerous Beauty Novel.

So those are my books. What books have you gotten recently?

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Updaye 63 + My Book Haul

    1. I will. I hadn’t heard of For The Forest of a Bird, but as soon as I saw it I was intrigued. I’ll be reviewing The Catalyst and The Remedy in May. I have high expectations for both of them .

  1. Oh you’re querying? Good luck, Rochelle! I’m planning/hoping on doing that later in the year, and it’s intensely nerve wracking even thinking of it. But also really exciting. Best of luck to you!
    Ooh, you’re looking for a critique partner? Do you have a specific method of finding critique partners, or you get fellow writer friends to partner up? I’d find it beneficial to find another one, sometime soon, too, for my YA dystopian, I think.
    And yay! I’m glad you liked everything, Rochelle! Happy reading. Xxx

    1. Querying has been such a roller coaster of emotions and I’ve only just started! You should definitely join Query Tracker if you’re looking for an overseas agent, It is invaluable and it’s free. You can find agents in your genre and keep a list of them and a record of when you submitted to them and their responses etc.
      I am a member of Romance Writers of Australia and they have a critique partner scheme where they match you up with someone so I was going to give that ago. Though I would like to have another one as well, so if you’d like to swap chapters and see if we’d be a good fit, I’d be happy to give it a try. Totally up to you, just let me know.
      Thank you again for all the books. I am really looking forward to reading them.

      1. Oh, thank you so much for that tip, Rochelle! I’m definitely going to use that website!
        And that would be really neat! I’m still planning to do a full read through, smooth things out again, but in a month or two I’ll be sure to email you, if that works for you, time wise.xx

Leave a Reply

