Writing Quote Wednesday.

Here are five quotes on rejection. Enjoy!

“Rejection slips, or form letters, however tactfully phrased, are lacerations of the soul, if not quite inventions of the devil—but there is no way around them.”
– Isaac Asimov.

“This manuscript of yours that has just come back from another editor is a precious package. Don’t consider it rejected. Consider that you’ve addressed it ‘to the editor who can appreciate my work’ and it has simply come back stamped ‘Not at this address’. Just keep looking for the right address.”
– Barbara Kingsolver.

“I think that you have to believe in your destiny; that you will succeed, you will meet a lot of rejection and it is not always a straight path, there will be detours – so enjoy the view.”
– Michael York.

“I’ve got a folder full of rejection slips that I keep. Know why? Because those same editors are now calling my agent hoping I’ll write a book or novella for them. Things change. A rejection slip today might mean a frantic call to your agent in six months.”
– Mary Janice Davidson.

“I love my rejection slips. They show me I try.”
– Sylvia Plath

6 thoughts on “Writing Quote Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

