A Writerly Update 64.

Hey Everyone,

It’s been one wild week here. We had a massive storm on Tuesday that caused trees to fall down, damaging houses and cars, and power lines to come down cutting electricity to something like 100,000 homes, and it flooded. It was scary and horrible, but Praise God my family and house were safe. We are high up so the floods didn’t reach us, and we didn’t lose electricity. We were lucky. My sister didn’t have power for about 5 days. My kids got an extra two days off school. It felt like it was the holidays that were never going to end. A lot of other kids got the whole week off. Because of this terrible storm, I didn’t get much writing done the first half of the week.

Here’s what I did get done:

I posted Episode Twelve of The Amberly Chronicles. If you like YA sci-fi you might want to check it out. You can start from the beginning HERE.

I managed to edited a few more chapters of Rift this week (My other YA sci-fi). It is a lot more edited than I remembered, which was a nice surprise. I’m really enjoying what I’ve read so far and can’t wait to read more. (Even though I wrote it and know what happens, it’s been awhile since I looked at it and I’m excited to ‘find out what happens’ lol.)

I have been editing a chapter of Rift and then recording myself reading the edited chapter. I’ll then leave it a day and edit another chapter. Then I’ll listen to the chapter I recorded to make sure it flows nicely and pick up any mistakes I missed the first time. I find this a really great editing technique and encourage all of you to try it. It’s my little twist on reading your work aloud.

That’s it from me. How was your writing this week? I hope your weather was a lot more pleasant than mine.

Happy Writing 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 64.

  1. Wow — they didn’t have electricity for FIVE days? Oh dear, that sounds horrible. 😦 Haha, I bet your kids were happy they got a couple of days off of school, though! I love that feeling when you come back to a MS and it’s much more edited than you think it is! 🙂 Have a wonderful week.

    1. Yeah, having to go without electricity for five days would be horrible. I need my laptop! And yes, the kids loved having the extra days off.
      Thanks hope you have a wonderful week too 🙂

  2. We must live near each other (Lake Macquarie)? I was without power for Six Days, It turned me into a cranky mess. Luckily we have plenty of camping gear. My mother got power back after two days, so at least I could go around there and get a power fix 🙂 :-).

  3. I heard about all of the horrible weather down south, I’m so glad to hear you and your family are safe Rochelle. It’s always a super scary thing to happen! Good luck with the Rift, sounds like you’re making some good progress.

Leave a Reply

