Review: Vanishing Girls By Lauren Oliver.

vanishing girls

Release Date: March 10 2015.
Publisher: Hachette Australia.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

An utterly gripping new novel from bestselling author Lauren Oliver.
Dara and Nicole used to be inseparable, but that was before – before Dara kissed Parker, before Nicole lost him as her best friend, before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred. Now the two sisters, who used to be so close, aren’t speaking. In an instant, Nick lost everything and is determined to use the summer to get it all back.

But Dara has other plans. When she vanishes on her birthday, Nicole thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl has vanished, too – nine-year-old Madeline Snow – and as Nicole pursues her sister, she becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances may be linked.

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

Vanishing girls was a thrilling and beautifully written tale of two sisters who were once close but have been torn apart by a tragic accident. I was drawn in early and held by the building mystery and slow unveiling of what happened between these two sisters. We get to see inside both their heads and get a deeper understanding of why they were acting the way they were. We get to see the girls both before and after the accident, highlighting the change in both of them. As much as this is a story of both sisters, I felt it was more Nick’s story, and I felt myself more invested with her.

Nick had spent time at her father’s house after the accident but now must return home. Things are strained and Dara won’t even speak with her.
Nick takes a summer job at an amusement park, where her ex best friend Parker also works. Working together, they rekindle their friendship, and feelings buried start to resurface. I loved Parker and Nick. I loved their history and their chemistry, and their developing relationship was one of my favourite things about this book.

While all this is happening, the town is rocked by the disappearance of a young girl – Madeline Snow. And when Dara also goes missing, Nick will stop at nothing to find her sister. She discovers that Madeline and Dara are connected somehow, and in finding one, she just might find the other.

Then there was the ending. What a twist! It was so perfect, and so different from what I’ve read before (I don’t read a lot of psychological thrillers.) Once the twist was revealed I wanted to immediately go through and read the whole thing again, to pick up all the clues I missed the first time.

Vanishing Girls is a story of broken families, of grief, of living after tragedy and of love. It will draw you in as it unravels and leave you reeling with the ending. It is beautifully written in true Lauren Oliver style that her fans, and new readers alike, will enjoy. I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

17 thoughts on “Review: Vanishing Girls By Lauren Oliver.

  1. Lovely review! I’ve seen this one around the blogosphere for a while now, so I’ll probably have to check it out sometime. Plus, I’ve never read a psychological thriller before, so this should be interesting.

  2. NEED TO READ IT NOW! Thanks for the review, I saw this and all I need to know what it was by Lauren Oliver and I just HAVE to read it now. Thanks so much for another book on the tbr!

  3. You know, I think yours is the first review I have read for this book! And I must say that I am super excited for it 😀 I didn’t really know what it was about, but everything that you highlighted in your review makes me 100% keen to read this one.

    I love it when the twist is kept hidden, because I feel that all too often you can guess the ending straight away. I look forward to seeing if I can guess it, or not 😄

    And that cover is a gorgeous bonus, too!

  4. I have this love hate relationship with Lauren Oliver books, some I’ve enjoyed, but most I’ve found were either meh, or like Panic, I couldn’t stomach the stupidity. But this one sounds pretty good and I love a good twist that you can’t see coming, so hopefully that’s the case for me. Wonderful review Rochelle, excited to read this one now ❤

Leave a Reply

