Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas.

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Release date: May 5th 2015.
Publisher: Bloomsbury.
Source: From Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars.

I can’t even express how much I love Sarah J Maas. Her Throne of Glass series is one of my favourite fantasy series, so I was over the moon when I found out she was writing this and almost died when I got an advanced copy in the mail. I had high expectations for this book and I am happy to announce that Miss Maas did not disappoint.

Beauty and the Beast meets Faeries. It was the perfect combination. Feyre’s world is divided into mortal and Fae lands, with mortals all to aware of the Fae. Most mortals hate the Fae, including Feyre.
Feyre’s family is poor, and even though she has a father, she must take care of her family, teaching herself to hunt so she can feed them.

When Feyre kills a wolf that is actually a Faerie, a beast comes looking for her. He gives her the choice of coming to live with him or dying on the spot. She reluctantly goes with him. She is free to go where she wants, she isn’t a prisoner, as long as she stays in the Fae lands. The beast transforms back into his true form, a handsome high fae named Tamlin who wears a golden mask he is unable to remove.

Feyre finds herself with time on her hands. She doesn’t know what to do with herself. For years everything she has done has been to save her family, and now she has time to think about herself – though getting back to her family somehow is one of her main priorities.

Feyre starts to get to know Tamlin and a slow burning romance starts to unfurl between them, building to a sizzling, steamy climax. 😉

The beginning is very much focused on building the romance, and the second half is much more action packed, but without the first, the second wouldn’t have had the same impact that it did. Feyre must prove her love and face the darker side of the Fae world, and an enemy more twisted than she could ever imagine.
Feyre’s strength and loyalty is tested and she shines.

Sarah J Maas is the queen of swoon worthy men and a long with Tamlin there is the funny, snarky, a little sly and a lot loyal friend of Tamlin’s named Lucien, and another high fae named Rhysand. Plain evil is what I first thought of him, but even though he is dark and deadly, he is more complex than I ever imagined and I can’t wait to see what Maas has planned for him in the next book.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was a breathtaking romance. It pulled me in from the beginning and held me captive until the end. Maas does not disappoint with her spectacular writing, fierce female lead and swoon worthy men. This is a must read for fantasy lovers, retelling lovers and paranormal romance lovers. I am dying to get my hands on book two.

Note: This is new adult and therefore aimed at older teens plus and may not be suitable for some younger teens.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas.

  1. I REALLY liked A Court of Thorns and Roses! Which I am super happy about, because I wasn’t a huge fan of the first Throne of Glass book, so I was scared it would be a repeat. But I loved practically everything about this book!

    I definitely agree that the slow buildup in the first half of the novel is necessary for you to really get behind Feyre in the second half. Because all the feelings are there, the stakes are higher than they would have been if we’d started off at the trials in the beginning.

    I absolutely loved all the male characters, and I cannot wait to see where they go in the next book/s!

    Great review, Rochelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s