A Writerly Update 66 + May Book Haul.

Hey Everyone,

It’s been a fortnight since my last update and I apologise for missing a week but I have been sick and still am a little. I’ve had the flu and I’m finding it hard to shake this one, it is really annoying, and now I’m getting a migraine.

Because I was sick I missed posting Amberly Chronicles Episode 15. It is written I just have to do a bit of editing on it. I plan to have it up on Saturday, Sunday at the latest. If you haven’t read my YA sci-fi serial you can catch up on all the episodes HERE.

I haven’t gotten as much writing done as I wanted but I did get some done. I have now edited 40,000 words of Rift, my other YA sci-fi. That’s half way, and fifteen chapters, and it feels so good to reach that milestone.

Last time I posted I only felt like working on Rift and nothing else because of how much I was loving it, which isn’t like me since I’m a juggler. Well I’ve started working on something else (I was wondering how long it would last.) I’m still in love with Rift and really excited to be editing it, but I was going through some of my files and rediscovered a MG fantasy that I had started working on last year and stopped to work on other things. I read over the 15k I had written and loved it. I was going to just pick up where I left off but it was too hard to get back into the story after so long so I am going to edit the 15K and then continue it. My goal is to have the first draft written in a month. My word count goal is 50k, as all you NANO writers know, that is totally doable, especially since I have 15k already done. Plus I have lots of plot points written down so I know what’s going to happen.

I also came up with an idea for a funny 1k story that I plan to enter into a comp next month when it opens. I got the first draft out in about an hour.

That’s about all for me writing wise. How about you? How was your writing week, or fortnight?

And now for my book haul. I haven’t done one of these at all in May so I have a fair few books to share with you all. (All links are to Goodreads.)

SAMSUNG

Elemental 3, 4 & 5

Spirit
Secret
Sacrifice

*I got all of these for $5 each at a secondhand store. I was so excited. The whole series was there but I already own book 1 & 2. I loved book one and can’t wait to read the rest of this series.

SAMSUNG

The Land of Decoration
Talon
Vibes

*The Land Of Decoration was only $1 at a bargain store that was closing down. It sounded alright so I bought it.
Talon was only $7 at Big W on special, and Vibes was only $1.95 from Booktopia, and I got it with free shipping. I’ve had some really good bargains this month!

SAMSUNG

When The Night Comes.
Anomaly.
Trial By Fire.

*Sorry this photo is a little dark.
I got When the Night Comes for $4.50 second hand. Anomaly was $11.89 with 15% off from Koorong, my local Christian bookstore, and Trail By Fire was $2.95 from Booktopia with free shipping.

And last but not least here are the Review Copies I have received:
SAMSUNG

The Soldier’s Wife.
Shards of Hope.
Cherry Blossom Dreams.

Thanks to Hachette Australia and Bloomsbury Australia.

So many good books, and I have no idea when I’m even going to read them! (Yes, I have a book buying problem, especially when it comes to bargains!)

What books have you gotten this month that you’re really excited about?

Happy reading & writing 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 66 + May Book Haul.

  1. Good job on the writing and editing! Hope your sickness goes away soon, I’m noticing that I’m catching one too. Haha, how strange is that. Nice haul! What lucky bargains! I bet you’re looking at your bookshelf going, “now, where do I put these?”
    Haha, have a good week! Sending you mental chocolate for that flu 🙂

    1. Thanks. And I have run out of bookshelves and that’s exactly what I thought! I now have to put my books in boxes, which I hate, I’d rather them be on display!

Leave a Reply

