Writing Quote Wednesday: Quotes from George R.R. Martin.

I stumbled across this compilation of quotes by George R.R Martin on writing over at io9. You can check out the whole post HERE.

Here are my two favourite:

“I hate outlines. I have a broad sense of where the story is going; I know the end, I know the end of the principal characters, and I know the major turning points and events from the books, the climaxes for each book, but I don’t necessarily know each twist and turn along the way. That’s something I discover in the course of writing and that’s what makes writing enjoyable. I think if I outlined comprehensively and stuck to the outline the actual writing would be boring.”

I love this quote because this is how I write 🙂

“I get up every day and work in the morning. I have my coffee and get to work. On good days I look up and it’s dark outside and the whole day has gone by and I don’t know where it’s gone. But there’s bad days, too. Where I struggle and sweat and a half hour creeps by and I’ve written three words. And half a day creeps by and I’ve written a sentence and a half and then I quit for the day and play computer games. You know, sometimes you eat the bear and sometimes the bear eats you. [Laughs]”

I love this one too because I always like to read how other writers work.

One thought on “Writing Quote Wednesday: Quotes from George R.R. Martin.

Leave a Reply

